CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 21, 2019, 23:46:43 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Derived Gcode is incorrect  (Read 1692 times)
edelec
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


View Profile
« on: October 01, 2019, 14:12:32 pm »

Just started trying Cambam on the lathe. Developed the attached file. The Toolpaths look great but the Gcode does not. Not at all sure where my error is, I would be obliged with some ideas.

* Ball.cb (5.71 KB - downloaded 27 times.)
Logged

Richard
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Online Online

Posts: 8060



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2019, 15:44:16 pm »

Richard,
Can you fill us in on what about the G-code looks bad?  Since you didn't provide it, we can only produce it with our own post-processors for our own machines.

Could it be you have the wrong post-processor selected?

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
edelec
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2019, 16:37:27 pm »

Thanks for the quick response. I used LinuxCNC-turn. Though in fact Linux and Mach both produce very similar Gcode. I have not tried to run the code as it does not produce the required product.
I have attached the code which I believe you will see does not generate the required profile.

* Ball2.nc (11.6 KB - downloaded 24 times.)
Logged

Richard
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Online Online

Posts: 8060



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2019, 17:04:36 pm »

Richard,
I don't currently have a lathe simulator, but it looks to me like the 'polarity' of X is wrong.

You say +X is 'down' on the drawing, but the PP is creating those moves as negative X.  Z _seems_ OK to me.

There are regular CB lathe users here who can be lots more help.

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Online Online

Posts: 8060



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2019, 17:30:19 pm »

Oh, BTW... just 'flipping' your drawing along the DRAWING's Y axis (your lathe X), thus putting the profile above the drawing's X axis would probably correct the bad numbers.  But I doubt that's the proper solution.

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
dave benson
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1153


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2019, 01:13:09 am »

HI Richard
Have a look at the Lathe Sample file here:
http://www.cambam.info/doc/plus/cam/Lathe.htm
and my answer regarding the capabilities of the lathe mop's here:
http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=7913.0
your drawing should look like this screen shot
Dave


* lathe sample file.PNG (98.23 KB, 758x404 - viewed 59 times.)
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5643



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2019, 01:47:25 am »

Hello

On your example file (ball.cb), the selected post processor is wrong ; you selected "default" instead "LinuxCNC-turn" (in the machining folder)

If I use Mach3-turn as post processor and simulate on Mach3, your file is OK .... except:

-  for the lathe2 ; the clearance plane value is wrong (must be > to stock surface)

- the tool are <> in the 2 machining operation (mop) but the same tool number is used for both .. wrong.

++
David



* Sans titre-1.jpg (136.23 KB, 1030x666 - viewed 63 times.)
« Last Edit: October 02, 2019, 01:58:58 am by dh42 » Logged
edelec
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2019, 06:55:41 am »

Thank you gentlemen. Unfortunately I am now away for a couple of weeks so will be unable to action any changes, but will sign in again on my return.
Logged

Richard
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.116 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap