CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 12, 2019, 03:53:06 am


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: CamBam V1.0 RC 1  (Read 1618 times)
pixelmaker
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715


View Profile WWW
« on: September 26, 2019, 23:34:35 pm »

• After update from  CB 1.0-alpha16 to CB-1.0-RC1 my libraries are gone. Tool libraries and CAM styles have been reset and all libraries I created are no longer there. Only the standard libraries are available which are available after each new installation.
Please save the libraries before the update and copy them back after the update.

• I cannot create an automatic path for the G-Code file. The variable {$cbfile.name}.nc is included as output file in the template and the Template is selected in the configuration. After saving I always have to define a path for the Out File first.

ralf
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5676



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2019, 00:44:31 am »

Hello Ralf

For the first problem, I think the best way is to use a custom folder for the cambam "system" (define it in the options), so when you update CB, only the default folder is affected (in C:\ProgramData) but the custom folder is never affected. (it's what I use)

For the second, I don't understand ; when I save a new file (the .cb file) the OutFile stay blanck, but when I create the GCode itself, CB always propose the same path/filename as for the .cb file, and if I do not change this path/filename, the {$cbfile.name}.nc appears in the OutFile property ... no problem for me... no needs for a template for that.

As you, if I save a template with this {$cbfile.name}.nc macro or any other path/filename in the OutFile property, it is not restored when I "new from template"

++
David
Logged
dave benson
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1171


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2019, 01:27:37 am »

I just re-checked my installation (I did it in the background while doing something else) and everything
seems to be ok including my templates win732.
Dave


* CB rc1 seems ok.PNG (65.82 KB, 578x576 - viewed 50 times.)
Logged
10bulls
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2133


Coding Jedi


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2019, 13:40:51 pm »

• After update from  CB 1.0-alpha16 to CB-1.0-RC1 my libraries are gone. Tool libraries and CAM styles have been reset and all libraries I created are no longer there. Only the standard libraries are available which are available after each new installation.
Please save the libraries before the update and copy them back after the update.
Ah, sorry about that Ralf.  I hope you have a backup, but if not, if you look in the cambam system\styles folder, you should see the automatic backup files (.b1, .b2, .b3).  You can rename those to just .xml to restore a previous saved version.

I have put a fix in the installer, which should prevent this next time.

Quote
• I cannot create an automatic path for the G-Code file. The variable {$cbfile.name}.nc is included as output file in the template and the Template is selected in the configuration. After saving I always have to define a path for the Out File first.

Yes, I ran into this problem too. 
I have created a new topic to bring all these out file issues / requests into one place so we can put it to bed with the next release.

http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=8202.0

Logged
pixelmaker
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2019, 14:32:19 pm »

Quote
Ah, sorry about that Ralf. 
No Problem Andy, I work on a Mac and have my "time machine". I wrote it as a warning for the normal Windows user for whom a backup is often a foreign word.

ralf
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4078



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2019, 15:28:32 pm »

Quote
Ah, sorry about that Ralf. 
No Problem Andy, I work on a Mac and have my "time machine". I wrote it as a warning for the normal Windows user for whom a backup is often a foreign word.

ralf

A "Restore Point" can always be made in Windows.
Logged

Made in England
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8080



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2019, 16:00:08 pm »

"...the normal Windows user for whom a backup is often a foreign word."
------------
Amen!  I run WinBlows.  I do incremental backups after EVERY significant project, and a full 'image' backup of the whole drive about twice a month.

I can't imagine why most folks don't do proper backups, then cuss when they lose everything!

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
pixelmaker
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2019, 17:53:06 pm »

the mac has the time-machine built into the system. Every hour an incremental backup which is then summarized after days and weeks.
Windows runs in a virtual machine, but all files are stored on the Mac so I am on the safe side.
It's just annoying when the libraries are gone.

A user just wrote me that after installing V 1.0 RC1 the lathe plugin is not installed and is missing after the installation.
I still have to check this because I only made an update of the Alpha16.

Sometimes it takes a little time for the memory to come back. The plugin is installed with version RC1, but the icon is installed by the Custom CAM Toolbar plugin.
The problem is solved


ralf
« Last Edit: September 29, 2019, 19:02:11 pm by pixelmaker » Logged
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3811


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2019, 15:33:15 pm »

I use an external drive to periodically backup all my machining files and accounting files.  Everything else is restorable if somewhat inconvenient. 
Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
driedeker
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2019, 16:13:16 pm »

Where is the simulate with cut viewer gone it is missing from my cb1 rc1.
Logged
driedeker
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: September 30, 2019, 16:17:47 pm »

Its ok I had to put the dll back in plugins for it to re-apear
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4078



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2019, 16:39:34 pm »

Its ok I had to put the dll back in plugins for it to re-apear

Thanks for the reminder, I might have overlooked that until it was too late.
Logged

Made in England
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5676



View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2019, 16:40:41 pm »

Hello

Yes Andy remove the cutviewer.dll from the installer in the RC1.

The cutviewer.dll can be found here now, as most other plugins.

http://www.atelier-des-fougeres.fr/Cambam/Aide/Plugins/Simu_cutviewer.html

Not sure it's really a good idea to remove this dll ; a lot of people still use Cutviewer although it is no longer available ..

++
David
 
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4078



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2019, 17:12:08 pm »


Not sure it's really a good idea to remove this dll ; a lot of people still use Cutviewer although it is no longer available ..

++
David
 

Absolutely, especially because it had to be purchased and it still works fine.
Logged

Made in England
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5676



View Profile WWW
« Reply #14 on: September 30, 2019, 17:18:49 pm »

Quote
it still works fine.

Yes, I like it too.

Other missing files are the whole Help folder in all linux installers.

++
David
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.157 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap