CamBam
News:

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 03, 2020, 23:47:26 pm

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: A question to GRBL users  (Read 1982 times)
Dragonfly
CNC Jedi

View Profile
« on: August 24, 2019, 20:57:31 pm »

I started playing with a fork of GRBL 1.1 but on Arduino Mega (ATMega 2560) with a 4-th axis added. My intention is to introduce some changes to make a suitable controller for a specific machine - automatic plasma cutter for tubes (round, square, rectangular). A friend of mine has built the cutter and uses a Chinese (quite buggy) controller currently.

After compiling and uploading the firmware it works as expected, doing synchronous moves with 4 axes. The 4-th I've set as a rotational one (setting actual steps per degree).
This all was done manually from a serial terminal. But I need a sender, a good 4 axis sender. What I found is, well, disappointing. It seems that the developers pay more attention to incorporating CAM features into a sender rather than paying attention to actual machining. GRBL was initially developed for 3D printers and some of its built in functions are made with 3D printing in mind. So are the senders.

The only one sender which supports 4 axis I found is bCNC. Written in Python (but 2.7 which is almost obsolete). And while under Linux it behaves more or less as it should I had no success trying to run it under Windows (both XP (32 bit) and 7 (64 bit)). The GUI starts (after some fiddling) but there is a problem with communication.

So,
my question is what senders are you using to control a GRBL machine.
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2019, 21:09:22 pm »

Hello

Did you try the GRBL machin plugin ? ... I don't know if it is working with 4 axis ... (it is not working on linux)

http://www.atelier-des-fougeres.fr/Cambam/Aide/Plugins/GRBLmachine.html

++
David
onekk
CNC Jedi

View Profile