CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 23, 2019, 14:12:13 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Printing CB images clearly for documentation  (Read 292 times)
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7914



View Profile
« on: July 06, 2019, 19:19:05 pm »

A LONG time ago, I added the 'print' plugin.  But it does a crappy job in terms of resolution.

If I need a higher-resolution image captured from the CB drawing screen, I use the utility "MWSNAP".  It's a fairly versatile image-capture method that will print to whatever the system default printer was when MWSNAP was started.  You cannot change printers during a run of the utility, because it 'reads' what the printer is upon starting-up, and not again during the run.  You must close MWSNAP, change the printer, then re-start the utility.

You-all may have other methods you use, and I'd be interested in hearing about them, too.

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5514



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2019, 19:39:23 pm »

Hello

For screen shot, I use Screen Hunter ; not perfect, I always get "defects" on the mouse pointer, so I must hide it in the software settings.

For printing, if it is only the drawing area that is needed and if there is no mesh object, I use the print function of CB V1 : it can also be used to print on a PDF.

http://www.cambam.info/doc/dw/1.0.0/file-menu.html#print-

++
David
Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7914



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2019, 19:43:28 pm »

David,
Because of a very few 'compatibility issues' with very old files, I still use 0.98 on old files, mostly.  But I have 1.0.

I'll have to try the print feature there.  I don't remember how it performed, the last time I used it.

For today's documentation job, there was nothing that would have prevented me from using 1.0.  I just use 0.98 out of habit.

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7914



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2019, 21:00:00 pm »

Yes, David.  1.0's print command produces as good an image as my capture feature.

I'll use that in future, when I can.

Thanks,
Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5514



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2019, 21:02:58 pm »

Quote
I'll have to try the print feature there.  I don't remember how it performed, the last time I used it.

Gives good results on a printer, but you get only the drawing area as on any CAD software (and with hight resolution) but 3D objects are "flat". For documentation I only use screen capture so I can get the tree and others toolbars ..

++
David
Logged
pixelmaker
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1692


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2019, 23:30:39 pm »

i have a mac and cambam runs very fast with multiprocessor support in paralells desktop.
I don't need a virus scanner.
Such functions as screenshots, for which you need separate software again, go with my shortcut cmd+shift +3 or +4, depending on whether I want the complete interface or just a frame.
The resolution is that of my monitor, at 96dpi, a screenshot of the entire surface corresponds to 2560x1600px.
This corresponds to an image size for printing of 215 x 135mm at 300ppi.
This is perfectly sufficient for printed documentation. Here is an part of a screenshots, which has to be enlarged to 100%.

ralf


* Bildschirmfoto 2019-07-07 um 00.34.17.png (90.19 KB, 1796x292 - viewed 13 times.)
« Last Edit: July 06, 2019, 23:38:31 pm by pixelmaker » Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3965



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2019, 12:48:39 pm »


Screen shot captured using Alt + PrtSc (captures active window) then Ctrl + V into my graphics program (Paint Shop Pro). This free graphics program is also good, https://www.irfanview.com/


* threads.jpg (63.8 KB, 800x369 - viewed 13 times.)
« Last Edit: July 07, 2019, 15:20:22 pm by EddyCurrent » Logged

Made in England
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7914



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2019, 14:53:23 pm »

Guys,

I know this section of the board is called "CamBam Shop Feedback", but there are individual threads under the section for different topics.

There are (or certainly can be) other topics about just this sort of threading issue.  It seems a little - um - 'abrupt' to just step in and take over another thread about a completely different subject.

David, can this sidebar be moved to an appropriate place?

Lloyd
« Last Edit: July 07, 2019, 15:14:47 pm by lloydsp » Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
Mark81
Wookie
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 271


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2019, 15:44:36 pm »

It seems a little - um - 'abrupt' to just step in and take over another thread about a completely different subject.

Sorry, I removed the messages.
Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7914



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2019, 22:10:04 pm »

Mark, I apologize.

I didn't really intend that you delete those questions, only that perhaps David could move them to their own thread!

But I very much appreciate your consideration.

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.15 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap