CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 26, 2019, 06:50:18 am


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Grbl Post Processor Problem  (Read 1390 times)
miklstel
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« on: February 22, 2019, 15:30:19 pm »

I installed the PP attached below.  For the most part it works but I have to do some G code editing.  It produces G0 with no parameters which caused load error in Grbl so they need deleted and also includes duplicate lines which result in extra moves.  I don't see any pattern to when the problem code is produced.

M3 S1000
G0 X0.0 Y0.0
G0 X0.0 Y0.0
G0 Z0.125
G1 Z-0.125 F50.0
G0 Z0.125
G0                                 NO Parameters
G0 Z0.125                      Duplicate Move
G1 Z-0.125
G0 Z0.125
G0                                 NO Parameters
G0 Z0.125                      Duplicate Move
G1 Z-0.125
G0 Z0.125
G0 Y1.0

NC file is attached along with CB file.

Thanks

* Chinese CheckersTest110.nc (6.75 KB - downloaded 25 times.)
* GRBL.cbpp (1.39 KB - downloaded 34 times.)
* Chinese Checkers.cb (35.08 KB - downloaded 21 times.)
Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7888



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2019, 16:03:34 pm »

Try replacing your $g0 items in the post processor with $_g0.  That will make them 'modal', and they won't be repeated unless a different command than a G0 was issued since the last G0.

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
miklstel
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2019, 16:43:24 pm »

Lloyd thanks for the reply.  I need some help here.  Where do I do the replacing?  In .cbpp file or in the PP window.  tried both but had problems.

Mike
Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7888



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2019, 00:35:52 am »

You edit the .cbpp file, so that the $g0 or $G0 commands are $_G0.

Then you must "reload post processors" before experimenting with the changes.

Tell us what the problems were.

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
miklstel
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2019, 01:53:25 am »

I edited the .cbpp using Notepad but it saves it as a .txt which CB won't load.  How do I save it as a .cbpp.  Thanks

Mike
Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7888



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2019, 12:36:41 pm »

Use a better editor, like Notepad++, and you'll be happier.  But...

Notepad WILL save to a specific file type. You have to select "all file types" instead of "text files" in the filetype pulldown of the SAVE window.

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
miklstel
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2019, 14:14:17 pm »

OK.  Made the changes ($g0 to $_g0).  G code still the same.  Attached .nc and the new .cbpp file.

Mike

* Chinese Checkers112112.nc (6.75 KB - downloaded 21 times.)
* GRBL2.cbpp (1.4 KB - downloaded 25 times.)
Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7888



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2019, 14:57:33 pm »

Mike,
I don't wish to insult, so please take this as my only trying to be helpful.  I must ask:  Did you change which PP the CamBam file uses, now?  If you don't change the .cb file's PP to grbl2.cbpp, you won't see any changes in the output.

Of course, that presumes that you didn't just REPLACE the old grbl.cbpp;  but I'm trying to cover all the bases.

Make sure the .cb file uses grbl2, save it, then for safety's sake, also go to 'tools', and reload post processors.

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
miklstel
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2019, 16:19:32 pm »

I think I had done as you described.  Just to be sure I edited the PP name in line 6 to GRBL3 which shows up in the G code heading.  See attached files.  Don't worry about questioning me.  I should have know about saving a text file with a new extension.  Thanks for telling me about Notepad ++.   

* GRBL3.cbpp (1.4 KB - downloaded 25 times.)
* Chinese Checkers115.nc (6.75 KB - downloaded 26 times.)
Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7888



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2019, 17:11:55 pm »

OK... As time permits later this evening (dealing with legal things right now), I'll try your pp.

But please, upload a .cb file (even just a 'sample', if your design is proprietary) that will demonstrate the same problem.

Then I'll be able to run it in approximately the same environment in which you are.

Also, remind me, please: which version of CamBam are you running?  0.98 or 1.0+? (I have both)

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
miklstel
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: February 23, 2019, 19:08:53 pm »

Lloyd

My CB is Ver 1.0 Res 16.  CB file is attached.  Really appreciate your help.  Little background.  I am using a home made CNC Machine that I used very little.  I recently retired so have extra time on my hands.  I decided to update my machine and make some use of it.  I used to run Mach 3 but I wanted to get away from the parallel port and my computer was old.  My system never ran that great anyway.  Decided to use GRBL since I had an Audrino Uno laying around.  Upgraded system ran much better.  Could run faster and smoother.  Used CB and never had a problem running its G code on Mach 3.  So was trying to use CB with GRBL and UGS.  After all this rattling my question is, do you know of a CAM program that might work better for my upgraded system. 

Mike

* Chinese Checkers114.cb (35.09 KB - downloaded 17 times.)
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3957



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: February 23, 2019, 19:14:43 pm »

Have you tried this plugin ?

http://www.atelier-des-fougeres.fr/Cambam/Aide/Plugins/GRBLmachine.html

and it's thread is here;

http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=6482.msg51798#msg51798
Logged

Made in England
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5490



View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2019, 01:34:10 am »

Hello

try (with care) with this one.  Wink

The pb is with the macros used to simulate the drilling cycle on GRBL (GRBL do not handle the G81/82/83 drilling cycle)

++
David


* GRBL4.cbpp (1.35 KB - downloaded 22 times.)
Logged
miklstel
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2019, 15:47:23 pm »

GRBL4 did get rid of the G0 no parameters however the X Y moves were missing so edited the PP to include those.  Still had duplicate moves but that was my error in the CAD drawing. 

Is there a way to add a dwell at bottom of drill operation?

Thanks guys for all the help.  I attached the final PP file.
 

Mike

* GRBL5.cbpp (1.37 KB - downloaded 21 times.)
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3957



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: February 24, 2019, 15:52:55 pm »

Quote
Is there a way to add a dwell at bottom of drill operation?

Have a look at this thread;
http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=3675.msg24150#msg24150

Did you try the GRBLmachine plugin I linked to previously ?
Logged

Made in England
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.154 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap