CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 15, 2018, 23:21:58 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Rotating a 3D part. Why so hard!  (Read 261 times)
RG-JOE
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


View Profile
« on: October 04, 2018, 16:47:44 pm »

I'm fairly new to CamBam.
I thought I'd play around with toolpaths for some more complex parts.

I've imported a .STEP file in to CAMBAM and of course it's the part is laying on the wrong axis. I want the square face to be sitting flat against XY with the part extending through Z+ (see attachment).

I've honestly tried for hours and getting pretty frustrated. I've tried using the rotate, move, align, functions, etc. It only seems to want to rotate around the Z axis. I suppose I'm looking to rotate around the X (green axis)?

Any help appreciated.


* nest on side.png (1357.85 KB, 1920x1080 - viewed 24 times.)

* stood nest.png (40.82 KB, 800x630 - viewed 20 times.)
Logged
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3365


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2018, 17:20:01 pm »

The Basics. 
https://youtu.be/yQjRJlkHEs4
Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
Garyhlucas
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1154


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2018, 18:44:45 pm »

Use Transform and select the axis to rotate about.
Logged

Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3607



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2018, 19:17:50 pm »

To make life easy, this plugin is what you need; http://www.atelier-des-fougeres.fr/Cambam/Aide/Plugins/NumMove.html.
If you are using a trial version of CamBam then unfortunately plugins do not install.
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5198



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2018, 19:24:54 pm »

Hello

Quote
If you are using a trial version of CamBam then unfortunately plugins do not install.

Plugins works on trial version until the 40 free uses are over, then they are disabled ...

++
David

Logged
Dragonfly
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2015



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2018, 20:34:24 pm »

Although CamBam can load .STEP files you can't do much with them. Except view and rotate. They are loaded as a bunch of primitives and almost nothing can be milled in real conditions.
Logged

Before asking a question do some effort and walk through all menus and options in CamBam.  Maybe the answer is there. Please.
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5198



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2018, 21:07:28 pm »

Yes, but you can select all surfaces (*) then > Edit/joint, and you get an unique 3D object (the same as with an STL import) that is usable with 3D machining ops ... except that in addition you get true arcs for the 2D contour lines instead of a bunch of small segments (**) .. and it save a lot of job when you need 2.5D machining too.

(*) You can use this plugin to easily select the surfaces.
http://www.atelier-des-fougeres.fr/Cambam/Aide/Plugins/select_by_objtype.html

(**) http://www.screencast.com/t/DCWINIAXUg8

++
David
« Last Edit: October 04, 2018, 21:11:33 pm by dh42 » Logged
RG-JOE
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2018, 08:10:49 am »

Great. Thanks everyone. That'll keep me busy. Have a great weekend.
Logged
RG-JOE
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2018, 11:58:56 am »


Thanks for this Bob. I didn't realise you did a walkthrough especially for my problem. I appreciate it.
Logged
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3365


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2018, 17:04:16 pm »

It was easier and faster than trying to explain it with just text. 

The methods I showed are not the only way.  They are just the way that will work with CB whether you have any plugins installed or not. 

You're welcome. 
Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.139 seconds with 20 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap