CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
January 26, 2020, 00:31:26 am


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: 1 2 [3]
  Print  
Author Topic: [34] SOLVED - Can't Read old CB files with version 0.9.8P  (Read 12771 times)
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5728



View Profile WWW
« Reply #30 on: December 06, 2015, 22:30:07 pm »

Hello,

Be patient, Andy will certainly solve this little pb in next P release Wink

http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=5285.msg41732#msg41732

++
David
Logged
Jeff_Birt
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 821


View Profile
« Reply #31 on: December 07, 2015, 14:10:36 pm »

For folks who are not sure how to edit your old file manually so it will open in a new version of CamBam.

1) Make a copy of your file, to be safe!
2) Open NotePad (All Programs->Accessories->NotePad)
3) Open the file in NotePad (Do NOT use a word processor program instead!)
4) Add Version="0.9.8.0" to the second line before the Name tag
5) Save the file, your done!
7) Your done.

There are text editors that will open an XML file directly but the above method will work without installing new software, etc.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2015, 14:35:55 pm by Jeff_Birt » Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8111



View Profile
« Reply #32 on: December 07, 2015, 14:30:32 pm »

Jeff,
Notepad will open a .cb file directly, without changing the filename extension.

When you go to re-save it, if you merely "save", it will re-save with the .cb filetype.

If you wish to give it a new name, select "all files" in the save window's filetype line, then manually enter the entire filename including the .cb extension, and it will save it thus.

No need to rename it to .txt first, then back to .cb.

LLoyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
Jeff_Birt
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 821


View Profile
« Reply #33 on: December 07, 2015, 14:34:00 pm »

Your right Lloyd, I did not try first opening Notepad and then using File->Open. I was trying to avoid explaining how to set file associations or using 'Open With' and trying to navigate to the NotePad executable.

I'll redo the steps above.
Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8111



View Profile
« Reply #34 on: December 07, 2015, 14:45:20 pm »

Jeff,
umm... you don't have to do that, either! <G>

If you simply right-click on the .cb file, and select "Open with/Notepad", that works, too! <G>

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5728



View Profile WWW
« Reply #35 on: December 07, 2015, 15:21:18 pm »

Hello,

Note that the problem appears also with 0.9.7f files Wink

http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=5285.msg41821#msg41821

++
David
Logged
Jeff_Birt
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 821


View Profile
« Reply #36 on: December 07, 2015, 15:43:50 pm »

Jeff,
umm... you don't have to do that, either! <G>

If you simply right-click on the .cb file, and select "Open with/Notepad", that works, too! <G>

Lloyd

It 'might' work on your PC IF and only IF (IIF) you have set up that association. For example on this Windows 7 Enterprise PC there was no choice of Notepad in the 'Open With' menu. Navigating to find Notepad if it does not show up in the default can be a PITA. After I opened Notepad and opened a .cb file from within Notepad this PC now has the Open With->Notepad menu selection available. What I was trying to do was post a simple method that would work for anybody regardless of how your PC was set up.

Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8111



View Profile
« Reply #37 on: December 07, 2015, 16:33:12 pm »

Ok, that's reasonable.

I never set up any file associations with .cb for Notepad.  It just 'knew' on XP-Pro.  Perhaps XML was one of the native associations, but I don't think "open with" examines any of the file content, just the extension.  So I don't really have any answer for that behavior.


Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5728



View Profile WWW
« Reply #38 on: September 21, 2018, 22:51:50 pm »

Hello

Seems to be fixed in V1.0

++
David
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.127 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap