CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 16, 2018, 13:29:29 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't open downloaded .cb files  (Read 426 times)
soar11
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« on: September 15, 2018, 23:10:34 pm »

Have downloaded some interesting projects from this site but while attempting to open in CamBam I get the message
"object reference not set to an instance of an object". I've made sure the file is not blocked.
Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2018, 01:16:27 am »

Hello

Can you point the files you've downloaded that cause problem ?

Are you using Windows or Linux version of CB. (and what is you CB version)

++
David
Logged
driedeker
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2018, 08:22:31 am »

if its an old cb file,there is a version no missing from the  file and can be added by open in notepad.
its been mensioned befor in the group
 http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=5228.30.

http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=5285.0


For folks who are not sure how to edit your old file manually so it will open in a new version of CamBam.

1) Make a copy of your file, to be safe!
2) Open NotePad (All Programs->Accessories->NotePad)
3) Open the file in NotePad (Do NOT use a word processor program instead!)
4) Add Version="0.9.8.0" to the second line before the Name tag
5) Save the file, your done!
7) Your done.

There are text editors that will open an XML file directly but the above method will work without installing new software, etc.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2018, 08:33:21 am by driedeker » Logged
soar11
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2018, 18:21:09 pm »

Not sure how to point the files however the file name is solenoide.zip, running CB version CamBam Plus [0.9]Rel 8P on Windows 7.

Thank you for the replies and I will followup with the other posts you provided.
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2018, 18:34:39 pm »

Hello

Ok, here
http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=541.0

Same as you, the file thrown an error on CB 0.98, but open fine on CB V1.0  Huh

attached is the same, re-saved from CB 1.0 and that works on 0.98

++
David

* Solenoide.cb (1150.22 KB - downloaded 9 times.)
Logged
soar11
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2018, 19:24:03 pm »

Thanks so much, it works great and I now understand where and how the changes are made in the .cb file so that I can change other downloads if required.
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3659



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2018, 20:03:37 pm »

Thanks so much, it works great and I now understand where and how the changes are made in the .cb file so that I can change other downloads if required.

That's the spirit, well done !
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2018, 23:01:18 pm »

Re

It's because this bug on 0.98
http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=5228.msg41184

seems it's is fixed in V1.0 ...  but Andy do not communicate about this bugfix in the What's new page ...

@soar: install the V1.0, that will solve your problem Wink
http://www.cambam.info/downloads/#devt

++
David
« Last Edit: September 21, 2018, 23:04:07 pm by dh42 » Logged
soar11
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2018, 21:16:35 pm »

I have a licenced copy of 9.8 and have downloaded ver 1.0 which is asking for a license key. Do I have to purchase another licence?
If not where do I locate the existing licence key?
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3659



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 02, 2018, 07:36:04 am »

When you licenced 0.9.8 didn't you get an email with the licence file ?
Anyway you should find a file called, CamBamPro.lic, in the same folder as CamBam.exe, make a copy of it and put it in the corresponding v1.0 folder, you don't need a new licence.
« Last Edit: November 02, 2018, 07:37:47 am by EddyCurrent » Logged
Bubba
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2503



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 02, 2018, 15:07:48 pm »

When you licenced 0.9.8 didn't you get an email with the licence file ?
Anyway you should find a file called, CamBamPro.lic, in the same folder as CamBam.exe, make a copy of it and put it in the corresponding v1.0 folder, you don't need a new licence.

I would also ad, save the license file on the usb stick, etc. for save keeping.
Logged

My 2ยข
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.14 seconds with 20 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap