CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 15, 2019, 15:35:59 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Nesting  (Read 1295 times)
antpd
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


View Profile
« on: September 06, 2018, 08:59:52 am »


Hi everyone,

im still learning my way around cambam, so i only have the trial version atm,

im trying to cut some metal washers out of 5mm plate and need to cut multiple so im trying to nest them,
i have set the settings in part 1 to iso grid and 3 rows, 5 columns and 6mm spacing but cambam isnt showing
the parts on the stock piece..

is it because im using it unregistered or do i need to change something else?

also yes i have "view nests" ticked

thanks
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4052



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2018, 11:07:06 am »

Welcome to the forum.

The parts will not be shown but if you use menu item, Machining->Generate toolpaths, you will see the toolpaths displayed.

From the manual;

"When the toolpaths are generated, an outline should be displayed to indicate the location of
each copy. The centre of each outline contains a triangular icon. Clicking and dragging this icon
will change the nesting pattern and will also change the nesting method to Manual."

You should also install this simulator, https://www.camotics.org/
If you decide to purchase CamBam there is a plugin to make interfacing to the simulator easy.
http://www.atelier-des-fougeres.fr/Cambam/Aide/Plugins/Simu_camotics.html


* Image2.jpg (65.97 KB, 800x450 - viewed 108 times.)
« Last Edit: September 06, 2018, 11:12:41 am by EddyCurrent » Logged

Made in England
jpotter0
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2018, 04:58:42 am »

Duh! Thanks! I week and I forget what I'm doing. - Jim
Logged
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3743


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2018, 16:05:51 pm »

You also have to highlight the part that is nested.  Not the individual operations.  

I would note that if show cut widths is turned on the view of nests can be different than if show cut width is turned off.  

I've used grid and iso grid for nesting, but personally found point list gave me the most consistent control.  It doesn't have the limitation of cutting in wrong spacing if you need to go back and only use part of the operations in the nested part to make a correction.  Grid methods are relative to cut widths when tool paths are generated.  If you go back and make a correction using only part of the operations then the spacing is relative only to those cut widths.  

This may help or not.  
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JE4_nH1viP4


« Last Edit: September 07, 2018, 16:08:44 pm by Bob La Londe » Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2018, 16:55:39 pm »

Hello

The doc of CB V1.0 now contain a nesting section
http://www.cambam.info/doc/dw/1.0.0/cam/nesting.html

++
David
Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8051



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2018, 17:46:22 pm »

I use points-list nesting for all of my 'multi-shot board' designs, where I design one (or one pair) of fireworks bases, then cut many duplicates on the same sheet of goods.

The points-list method gives YOU the ultimate control of where the copies will go, and allows you to cut (say) just one, then if it works, to cut the rest, using only a different points list.

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
antpd
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2018, 23:29:29 pm »


thanks for that!

got it working, just used iso grid for a heap of circles,
the points list one sounds good but have not sure on using that yet.
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2018, 23:54:51 pm »

Hello

Quote
Grid methods are relative to cut widths when tool paths are generated.  If you go back and make a correction using only part of the operations then the spacing is relative only to those cut widths.  

Yes, or if mop are disabled ..

Another way to be sure that the grid spacing will not be disturbed if you enable/disable mop or make changes in the toolpaths/tool diameter, etc, is to generate the toolpaths with grid method, then switch the method to manual just after that, so the placement of the copy don't change when you regenerate the toolpaths, even if something change in the most external toolpaths for any reasons.

++
David
« Last Edit: September 10, 2018, 00:02:12 am by dh42 » Logged
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3743


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2018, 19:33:25 pm »

That is a good tip David.  I've never use manual. 
Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.151 seconds with 20 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap