CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 17, 2018, 22:57:20 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 3d profile doesn't detect plane.  (Read 521 times)
KristofV
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« on: March 12, 2018, 14:26:24 pm »

Hi,
i'm new to cambam and trying to figure some things out.
I've got a object (square) with a extruded circle on top of it. (square 510x510x(40+10 for the circle))
now i wan't to mil everything away around the circle but when i say Target depth 40 and depth increment 10 it goes around instead of on the plane.

The grey lines is the plane that it doesn't want to detect

Any ideas on how to solve this issue?

ps. if i take depth increment 9.75 it seems to work... but i only have 0.01 tolerance in the depth

Greets..
« Last Edit: March 12, 2018, 14:31:05 pm by KristofV » Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3454



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2018, 14:48:35 pm »

Please attach your cb file here rather than just a picture, thanks

Try setting clearance plane to 60, it has to be above the stock surface, even 51 would do.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2018, 14:51:43 pm by EddyCurrent » Logged
KristofV
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2018, 16:45:30 pm »

yea i noticed right after i added the post that it was still at 10, i changed it to 60 but that didn't made any difference.
i checked the .stl file and didn't see any problems with the planes.

when i use horizontal or vertical profile 3d methode it works just fine.. but it would take much longer,
specialy for 500 pieces..

Here is the .cb file and .stl file




* test1.cb (100.1 KB - downloaded 20 times.)
* Test1.STL (19.52 KB - downloaded 19 times.)
« Last Edit: March 12, 2018, 16:50:03 pm by KristofV » Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3454



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2018, 16:59:59 pm »

I'm not clear on your requirements, are you trying to cut a circle from the square piece of stock so you end up with something like a washer ?
Logged
KristofV
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2018, 17:20:52 pm »

I start with a square object 510x510x50
the object i want to get is the .stl file.

the problem is that it doesn't wan't to go down on my plane, but around it.
, and if i use at the 3d profile methode the "Horizontal" methode it doesn't goes straigt up..






1. Horizontal is selected
2. it doesn't goes straight up even when its should be 90degrees border.
3. waterline rough is selected
4. only goes around it instead of on it.
5. what it should do but 0.25mm lower.

I'm sorry that everything from cambam is in dutch, i'm on an other computer and forgot to change it back to english
« Last Edit: March 12, 2018, 17:22:50 pm by KristofV » Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3454



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2018, 17:22:45 pm »

Okay, let me make a new cb file.
Logged
KristofV
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2018, 17:33:00 pm »

Oke thanks!

I'm done working so i will see it when i'm home Wink
Logged
Garyhlucas
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1116


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2018, 17:42:33 pm »

You say you have 500 pieces to do. Unless there is other detail needed this will be WAY WAY quicker done with pockets or profiles. 3D toolpaths should always be your last choice or last cut at the least. 3D toolpaths are especially problamatic when trying to get an exact plane height.
Logged

Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3454



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2018, 17:56:25 pm »

File attached.

As Gary said you don't need 3D for this job.

Most people will set the "top of stock" to Z = 0

You should select the largest tool that will fit the job and then the most appropriate depth of cut for the tool and material.
Also in the "Machining" tab, select the correct Post Processor for your machine.

Until you know exactly what everything does it's best to leave most parameters on 'default' settings, they work good for me that way.


When you want to try a proper 3D job come back for more help on that.


* Image2.jpg (62.95 KB, 800x534 - viewed 27 times.)

* Image4.jpg (43.19 KB, 800x583 - viewed 31 times.)
* test2.cb (5.58 KB - downloaded 20 times.)
« Last Edit: March 12, 2018, 19:38:22 pm by EddyCurrent » Logged
KristofV
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2018, 14:34:38 pm »

I do know pocket is easyer, so thats the way i did it eventualy.
This was just an easy piece to explain.

But i just thought it would be faster for larger pieces in the future to use 3d profile becous it auto detects your 3d object.

if i have to draw the shapes of an object with 100 different Heights on it, i will be take hours to make.
thats why i was thinking about using the 3d profile methode.

its weird that if i need to mill 10mm down from the top, that i have to put end depth 9.75mm instead of 10mm otherwhise it would go around instead of on it.


Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3454



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2018, 14:56:52 pm »

I've attached a 3D version

* test1-3D.cb (84.96 KB - downloaded 14 times.)

* Image2.jpg (41.58 KB, 800x398 - viewed 25 times.)
Logged
KristofV
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2018, 15:21:30 pm »

Thanks i opened it, if i look from the side (X/Z) you will see it won't go down far enough.

The red Circle (1) will show you that it doesn't do the last plane.
i tried it with different objects and they do the same.



* Naamloos.png (32.03 KB, 1295x760 - viewed 34 times.)
Logged
Garyhlucas
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1116


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2018, 16:39:09 pm »

Use Surface Edge Detect to get the details for 2-1/2D machining from the 3D object. Then use regions to limit actual 3D machining to only those areas that require it.
Logged

Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3454



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2018, 16:52:45 pm »

The issue appears to be that Waterline Rough does not cut down to the surface, it omits the last layer of cut.
The thickness of the layer looks like it's the remainder of,

Target Depth / Depth Increment

e.g.
Target Depth = 10
Depth Increment = 3

10/3  = 3 remainder 1

Therefore layer left by Waterline Rough = 1

Horizontal and Vertical do cut right down to the surface.

@David, is this something we knew about ?
« Last Edit: March 13, 2018, 17:02:33 pm by EddyCurrent » Logged
dwc
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 504



View Profile WWW
« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2018, 18:26:29 pm »

if i have to draw the shapes of an object with 100 different Heights on it, i will be take hours to make.
But if you make it 2.5D it will be right the first time and all the dimensions will be exact.
3D machining always has resolution errors and will make a close approximation, but will never be perfect.
If you need exact dimensions 2.5D is the way to go and the total time is much less than 3D.
The time you spend programming you will recover in milling time and time remaking the parts because the dimensions are not perfect.
For organic shapes -> 3D
For machine parts -> 2.5D

Best,
Don
 
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.255 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap