CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 19, 2018, 23:40:02 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Gcode not importing correctly into cb  (Read 1040 times)
Haasomation
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


View Profile
« on: January 13, 2018, 21:28:47 pm »

I'm trying to import a nc file and the arcs aren't coming out correct. I've tried every option for Arc Center Mode as well as Absolute vs. Incremental and nothing is fixing it. The nc has been used on the cnc and imported into NC Corrector and the arcs came out correctly both times, so I know it's a cb problem and not the nc code. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I've tried it in both 0.9.8.and 1.0

* Incorrect_nc_import.cb (2.01 KB - downloaded 38 times.)

* NC_import_should_look_like_this.jpg (12.9 KB, 1229x300 - viewed 62 times.)
* Nose wheel scraper, Kodiak__V2_post.nc (0.57 KB - downloaded 33 times.)
« Last Edit: January 13, 2018, 22:48:20 pm by Haasomation » Logged
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Online Online

Posts: 3390


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2018, 23:05:29 pm »

(NOTES)

NOT *
Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
Haasomation
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2018, 23:07:46 pm »

The cnc I use is the Acurite 3500i. The only symbol it will accept as a comment is a *

() is not an option

It seems like CB can read the * without a problem. The part is cannot read is the arc command. It would seem cb is only set up to read 'G2 X Y I J'  arcs (which my cnc cannot handle) instead of 'G2 X Y R' arcs. If I import an nc code that includes * but no G2 or G3 commands it imports perfectly.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2018, 23:33:02 pm by Haasomation » Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2018, 23:43:29 pm »

Hello

Yes, CB use only IJK for arcs (read/write Gcode)

++
David
Logged
Haasomation
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2018, 00:00:30 am »

Thanks. So is there any way that you might know of to get around this problem?

cb can actually write nc using R for arcs if you use this code in the post instead of default Arc CW/CCW macros:  

Arc CCW: {$g3} {$x} {$y} {$z} R{$arc.radius}
Arc CW:   {$g2} {$x} {$y} {$z} R{$arc.radius}
« Last Edit: January 27, 2018, 17:20:57 pm by Haasomation » Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2018, 00:37:09 am »

No, I do not know any way to configure that for reading. I guess it's hard coded in the NCfile MOP.

++
David
Logged
Haasomation
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2018, 02:34:23 am »

I discussed the problem with a math expert and he said it was possible to do the conversion as long as you make sure the polarity is correct for each quadrant. I found the needed formulas here:
http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-program-arcs-and-linear-movement-in-G-Code-/
Me and my math friend will keep working on it and find the more straight forward, easier to implement math form and get it back to you.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.106 seconds with 20 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap