CamBam
News:

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 13, 2018, 22:09:32 pm

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: "spikes" on finishing profile  (Read 1332 times)
Mark81
Storm Trooper

View Profile
« on: January 06, 2018, 17:47:19 pm »

Hi guys, this is my first attempt to carving a 3D profile (from stl object).
Here the cb file (19 MB): https://drive.google.com/open?id=1HOmf2rxHJ7xIapzN5JhaMXIabjNKDuZ5

First question: the finishing profile shows some "spikes" to the bottom of the stock. Are they correct?

Then, I'm not sure I'm doing the whole stuff right. I need to carve only the front face of the object and it should be cutted out from the stock (I mean, without any frame).
Hence, I set the target depth of the roughing profile to the stock height (I still need to add the holding tabs as described in the manual). Then, using the Z-resize function I can increase or decrease the machining height of my object (i.e. the maximum will be when the centerline lies to the bottom of the stock and the highest position to the top.

Would you please help me to understand if I'm doing it correctly?
pixelmaker
CNC Jedi

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2018, 12:43:55 pm »

In the attached file I make som changes.

I add tabs. If you need more you can copy/paste one and write the ID number into the mop-
I add a polyline for boundary (2)

I change the  milling method to scanline, vertical for roughing, horizontal for finishing. This is not a object for waterline strategies.
I add a distance for the boundary of 4mm, enough to cut the corners.
I change the highest z-position to -0.5, because the highest parts are not cut in the finishing when object is at z=0
I change the target depth to -12.5mm, enough for this object
I change the resolution and step over to 0.1
I change the tool to a ballnose.

I make a zip file from the cambam file because I can upload it.