CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 21, 2018, 09:11:16 am


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 3D profile help needed - how reduce milling time  (Read 782 times)
sibianul
Wookie
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 266


View Profile
« on: December 07, 2017, 14:16:38 pm »

Hello guys,

can you tell me if there is any way to reduce the milling time on this roughing profile operation ? Is there a setting I can make , like on side profile, the ADJUST CUT WIDTH set to false, is something I'm looking for on this profile ... ohhhh   Grin Roll Eyes I did it with STEPOVER set to 2 .. Smiley))

And my next question is regarding the finish pass, is there other way to mill the finishing pass only in the right side, where the modeled is at an angle ? Should I draw like I did on my roughing operation, an region on the exterior and interior, to exclude the other area ?  Or there are other ways to do it? The finishing pass is milling on the top side, and I really want to get rid of that toolpath, I don;t want to mill the top side as is already flat, I'm milling TEGO board.

Thank you.

UPDATE. I attached the updated model, with the finishing operation also, but as you can see it will mill alot of air on the right side, can I avoid that ?


* Tego 18mm.cb (138.87 KB - downloaded 23 times.)

* CAM BAM 3D PROFILE1.jpg (77.22 KB, 797x585 - viewed 66 times.)
« Last Edit: December 07, 2017, 14:31:31 pm by sibianul » Logged
pixelmaker
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1636


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2017, 16:07:34 pm »

hello
if you want a waterline finish, then you have to use a waterline finishing method and not a roughing method.
A step over from more then 1 is dangerous and makes no sense with a max crossover distance of 0.7. You donĀ“t need this.
I see a roughing mop with one cut at target depth. It needs less then 4 min.
In the finishing mop I change something. And a mixed toolpath saves a lot of time.
My finishing time is 23 min.
And I can see holes in the 3D object.

ralf

* Tego 18mm_edit.cb (138.94 KB - downloaded 26 times.)
Logged
sibianul
Wookie
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 266


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2017, 18:48:38 pm »

Thank you Ralf.

The only option I haven't tried, that did the trick, WATERLINE FINISH , I was in a hurry and didn't want to spend more time on the CAM part, a friend of mine wanted those two parts, and even the machine milled quite some time, it wasn't any problem as I had time to take care of other CAM programs for clients.

Have a wonderful evening!
Logged
StefanR.
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2017, 22:05:55 pm »

Increase the feed rate, based how the toolpaths are behaving in the picture, the type of MOP youre making it is a trochoidal milling operation (WOC<0.1D) (look it up on youtube), feedrate should be inreased significantly. Only reason to have a feed rate based on normal tool parameters is for surface finish not meeting your standards.

Check for example https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxW05scvSKY
Logged
sibianul
Wookie
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 266


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2018, 10:42:15 am »

Do you guys know the quickest method to have a polyline with the contour of the 3D model ?

The project above consists in 9 similar shapes , some have some surfaces that need an 3D operation, but others can be made with just an profile MOP.

Is there a quick way to get an SIMPLE polyline from the 3D solid ? Not a collection of lines that needs to be manually clean (unless there is an automatic process, that I don't know)

Thank you.


* cambam convert from 3d solid to polyline.jpg (97.74 KB, 1212x839 - viewed 39 times.)
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3560



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2018, 11:27:27 am »

Try these,

1. Edit->Surface->Silhouette
2. One Slice plugin, http://www.atelier-des-fougeres.fr/Cambam/Aide/Plugins/OneSlice.html

When using the one slice plugin, if the resulting polyline(s) have a Z value, they can be moved to the Z plane using this "Flatten" plugin, http://www.atelier-des-fougeres.fr/Cambam/Aide/Plugins/flatten.html
« Last Edit: January 24, 2018, 11:31:38 am by EddyCurrent » Logged
sibianul
Wookie
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 266


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2018, 11:53:29 am »

Thank you. Edit->Surface->Silhouette did what I wanted Smiley
Logged
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3332


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2018, 15:54:35 pm »

Sometimes if silhouette doesn't work, edge detect works, but it can pick up a lot more edges than you think were there. 
Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.119 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap