CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 16, 2018, 13:57:35 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Race Car Bed  (Read 18000 times)
CamBamBam
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: May 15, 2010, 19:36:58 pm »

http://img35.imageshack.us/i/cark.gif/

For the sake of learning I am trying to imagine what I would do if I was to cut this from 1 pieace of wood
I have written numbers of the places that I would perfom different functions


1.outer shape 2.5D profile

property values.
TargetDepth = -5
DepthIncrement = 0.5
CutterDiameter = 2
CutWidth = 2.2
StepOver = 0.25


2.Pocket operation



3.Pocket operation



4.Pocket operation



5.Pocket operation


6.engraving


7.Pocket operation


8.engraving



9.Pocket operation


10.Pocket operation


11. Pocket operation


Lets say I start with a pieace of wood that is 1 inch thick
The first pocketing operation would be to mill
everything except the wheel and the rim
How I do that

For now I am leaving the property values for eveything blank but I will eventualy fill them in
I just want to know if all this makes sense to you guys

Logged
CamBamBam
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: May 15, 2010, 23:36:51 pm »

For starters I did this
If my
wood that is 1 inch thick

TargetDepth = -1
would this be ok


My version of cambam does not show these
CutterDiameter = 2
CutWidth = 2.2


Thanks


* trial.cb (202.6 KB - downloaded 268 times.)
« Last Edit: May 15, 2010, 23:38:34 pm by CamBamBam » Logged
c.sitas
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 571


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2010, 00:45:23 am »

Cambam;  Just for starters, working with wood as thick as you will be, I would make sure you clamp solid firstly. Then I would highly reccomend the use of holding tabs.  Sometimes when you brake through the cutter can grab a loose piece with not good results. So make sure everything stays in place. The tabs can be cut by hand afterwards. I don't know how far up the learning ladder you are thats why I'm saying this.  Maybe  can save some time or tears.  Also preplan all your cuts, don't cut your foot off when you still have to walk. Without thought sometimes a mistake can be that dumb, I don't know how I know that ,but. Have fun.  c.sitas
Logged
c.sitas
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 571


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: May 16, 2010, 04:27:02 am »

Hi cambambam;  I'm sorry I missed this part of your post . The part that you mention -1 depth is nuts. I don't know what you have for a router. If its less than about 2hp. forget it. Don't be in a hurry to to do a cut. The quality of the cut and the looks of the job are paramont. So slow down the cuts in depth. Most times many small passes are better. In the case mentioned I would not go over.250 in the increment to cut and I'm running a full size porter cable. They brag 1.5 horse power. All I know is to much cut = smoke and burnt edges and crappy looks. Just take your time and enjoy the machine you've made.  c.sitas
Logged
CamBamBam
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: May 16, 2010, 14:17:41 pm »

Hi c.sitas
Thanks for your help
How about if I did this
depth increment 0.063
target depth   -0.25

For example if I wanted cut something half inch deep and I wanted to do this in a few passes with the machine
would i play around with
depth increment
Logged
c.sitas
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 571


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: May 16, 2010, 19:02:14 pm »

Yes, thats more like it. Mostly ,when cuting wood with a decent router mounted you could take .1 on the doc. I pretty much leave the stepover at default.As you pick this stuff up, try plating with the roughing clearance as that also can be used to gaing speed and also a better finish. My machune is all home made  and mostly  used for wood and  plastics. It will cut aluminum if I don't horse it too much. Goes back to what I said earlier--slow down and enjoy it.  c.sitas
Logged
JerryHRoss
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: December 06, 2015, 21:26:23 pm »

The attached file has been modified so that it will load with CamBam version 0.9.8P.

* ALLDFX.cb (209.29 KB - downloaded 123 times.)
Logged
Ilemad
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2



View Profile
« Reply #22 on: August 07, 2018, 08:07:46 am »

...I guess to do this I would have to spend some time doing the tutorials

I'm afraid so.

I would recomend at the least going over the 'Getting Started' and 'Simple Example' sections of the users documentaion at...
http://www.cambam.info/doc/plus/codes
..or from Help Contents in CamBam plus.

The docs are geared up for CamBam plus which can be rather different to the free version in places.  If you are in a rush, I would suggest installing the plus version, learn the key concepts then go back to the free version if you want.

The introduction video also might be useful.

http://www.cambam.info/vids/

Quote
Sorry for any questions that may be trivial

No problems at all...you gotta start somewhere!  Smiley




Thanks for sharing!
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.127 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap