CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 11, 2017, 16:40:02 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Windows 10 Slow Down  (Read 1161 times)
Bubba
CNC Jedi
*****
Online Online

Posts: 2279



View Profile
« Reply #15 on: August 10, 2017, 12:38:20 pm »

With Windows 10 updates you never know what you going to get, and how it affect CamBam.  Grin 
Logged

My 2
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3023


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: August 10, 2017, 17:00:56 pm »

Yeah, if I recall the slow down was right after a Windows Update.  Up until then I was really impressed with how CB was performing under Windows 10.  The 64 bit machine I am running W10 on is actually slower than the 32 bit XP-Pro machine I was running it on before (by a couple tenths), but it seemed to perform better and faster. 

I'll go through the suggested thread today if I have time.  I have a lot of manual secondary operations to finish up today on the drill press, deburring, pinning etc. 

Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
Dragonfly
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1737



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: August 11, 2017, 09:01:01 am »

Not directly related but ...
I am trying to be windows dependent as less as possible. And doing some experiments.
Here is CamBam running under XP in a virtual machine on the back of Ubuntu 64 bit (Mate), on a i7 16GB RAM PC. Two cores assigned to the VM.


* CB_Vbox.jpg (162.63 KB, 1480x785 - viewed 26 times.)
Logged

Before asking a question do some effort and walk through all menus and options in CamBam.  Maybe the answer is there. Please.
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3023


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: August 17, 2017, 16:37:01 pm »

Well I still haven't cured it.  Yesterday I had to restart CamBam four times before I could use it.  I'm almost ready to go back to my XP Box. 
Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
Bubba
CNC Jedi
*****
Online Online

Posts: 2279



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: August 17, 2017, 17:22:22 pm »

So far CB is working fine with Win 10 but, I haven't had any upgrade/update to install.  Wink Cheesy
Logged

My 2
Garyhlucas
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1028


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: August 17, 2017, 20:41:33 pm »

Well I still haven't cured it.  Yesterday I had to restart CamBam four times before I could use it.  I'm almost ready to go back to my XP Box. 

I'd try rolling back the video driver, that was the culprit for us.
Logged

Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3023


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #21 on: August 17, 2017, 21:16:51 pm »

Shows video adapter driver files are from 2015.  So... I tried looking for an updated driver.  No luck there either. 
Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3023


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #22 on: October 16, 2017, 17:51:41 pm »

I hate to jinx myself, but I seem to have it working fairly consistently now.  I turned off 4.7 and allowed Windows to turn off those portions of 3.5 (with 3.0 and 2.0) that were automatically turned off when I turned off 4.7.   Since I have done that the program has worked consistently every time I have started a session.  Not sure why it worked for months previously unless that update included an update to .net 4.7 and that was what caused the problem. 

Now watch.  Next time I start a session it will cludge out again.  LOL.
Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3023


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #23 on: October 17, 2017, 18:37:32 pm »

DAMN!  DAMN!  DAMN! 

Well the darned symptom just remanifested.  Had to restart CB 098 3 times just now before it would run at normal speed. 
Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.474 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2008 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap