CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 19, 2018, 16:09:33 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
  Print  
Author Topic: Heidenhain TNC151 Conversational  (Read 36841 times)
Ludde
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #45 on: December 28, 2013, 10:44:48 am »

Hi guys,

Sorry for borrowing this topic a little, but I huys you are the best guys to ask about this... I have an Arboga Combimatic with a TNC155 controller. Been programming on the machine for a few years, but I want to take the step to using Cambam. I tried to do a simple drawing, and the .H-code I got for your postprocessor looks great! Well done!

However, I am a total newbie on CAM and so on... So my question is if anyone knows how to proceed to the next step. I have my PC with a rs232-port (9-pin) and the 25-pin in the controller. I connected this cable in a way that I red on another forum. I also downloaded TNCremo from the Heidenhain-webside, so I think I have everything I need.

What I don't know is how to get the file with the code from the PC to the TNC. I haven't tried anythinh yet (a little afraid to make a misstake that can damage the controller). So, what do I need to do, and how do I use the TNCremo? I would be very happy if someone could help me with this, and hopefully explain it to me like I'm 4-years old. I know how to mill and how to use a Cambam, but when it comes to the interface between PC and TNC I'm blank...

Please excuse my bad english, I'm a stupid Swede..

Best Regards,
Ludde
Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7462



View Profile
« Reply #46 on: December 28, 2013, 13:34:41 pm »

Ah... so THAT's where the term "Ludde-ite" comes from! <G>

Hi...
Attached below are the original Bridgeport/Fanuc/EDI transfer utilities that send code from pc to machine.

On the BOSS-9 control, it used 4800,8,1,N, and EZlink cannot set the comm port correctly; you'll need to do that in your control panel.

There's not much documentation there.  The LDEZLINK one of the three is the one I found most useful.  It's most clear as to use, and works fine.

Lloyd

* utls.zip (144.32 KB - downloaded 183 times.)
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
cpr
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #47 on: January 19, 2014, 10:39:37 am »

Thank you, thank you, thank YOU!

I made the small adaptions for a TNC145 (replacing $_f with $f, always output Fxxx and M (a lone M if nothing changes) and in CamBam I need to avaoid "spiralling into the workpiece" because TNC 145 only does 2-axis-moves.

This thread has a giant posting on whose shoulders I went from 0 to "release candidate" in one day!
http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=3918.msg26288#msg26288
Logged

--
Best regards,
Chris
Ludde
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #48 on: March 09, 2016, 21:27:48 pm »

Hello guys,

Tried to look here, but no one has posted for a while, haha...

Just wonder a few things about this PP.

I can't get it working correct with the drilling cycle. Let's say that I need a clearance plane of +3mm, but the stock surface is at -10mm. I can't make it work so I get the X&Y-movements between the holes at +3mm, and then a Z-movement down to -7, and by that a setup height of 3mm for the drill cycle. It seems like it ignores the fact that I set the stock surface to -10 in CB.

I have to make the drilling like if the stock surface is at 0, and then let the cycle work in the air down to -10...

Anyone got a solution for this? I'm probably doing something wrong. Smiley

Hopefully anyone is still active here.

Thanks!
Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7462



View Profile
« Reply #49 on: March 09, 2016, 21:55:31 pm »

The retract height should be set to -7mm.  The clearance height should remain whatever you need to move elsewhere on the stock.

But this will only work if your control accepts a "retract height" which differs from the clearance height.

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
Ludde
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #50 on: March 10, 2016, 17:25:50 pm »

The retract height should be set to -7mm.  The clearance height should remain whatever you need to move elsewhere on the stock.

But this will only work if your control accepts a "retract height" which differs from the clearance height.

Lloyd

I did not try it in the machine yet, but maybe I got it to work. If I set the retract height in CB to 7 (positive), I get a fast Z plunge down to -7 (negative) after positioning in X&Y, which is correct. In this situation the Setup height is 7 (positive) in the .H-code, and I don't know how my TNC155 handles this. I think my old manual says that the set up value always shall be negative... But maybe not when the physical set up height is <0...

I also noticed that if I drill several holes with different positions in the same MOP, it does not go back to the stock clearance between the holes. This makes total sense, but I never thought about it before. Smiley

Thank you for your help Lloyd!
Logged
AdeV
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78


View Profile
« Reply #51 on: June 13, 2016, 09:46:42 am »

Hi Ludde,

There are some weird issues around drilling on the TNCs (certainly the 151 that I use), some of the signs are counter-intuitive as I think you've found. You may also find that, unless all of the parameters are the same sign (negative, IIRC) the machine will cough at the command and not run it.

There's also still a few bugs in the post-PP script, which I need to address. Unfortunately I've had very little time recently, and as I'm moving my workshop *again* (3rd time in 5 years), I'm a bit out of sorts at the moment.

If I get a chance, I'll take another look at what changes I've made recently, there may be some new bits I can add.
Logged
StefanR.
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


View Profile
« Reply #52 on: July 18, 2017, 21:29:24 pm »

Hello everyone and specifically Adev,

After some research on the internet I came across CamBam and would like to see if I can get it working for a TNC430 control. I have found the TNC151 post files to be a huge start to get there! I made already made some modifications and I easily get going with it.

Slowly I want to modify the post to more complex scenario's and incorperate all cycles (when I stumble on the need to use it). Based on some trails of mine I came upon the following:

  • I found out that {$stock_x}, {$stock_y} etc do not give a negative value when this is entered in the Part properties. Anyone knows how to fix that?
  • To precisely define stock geometry for simulations, I would like to make calculations to the stock positions, does anyone how this can be achieved?
  • Can the maximum feed rate be changed? I can go up to F30000, so currently a bit slow Wink
  • An example face milling program is given below. The first is what I currently get (line 3 has all stock properties represented) and the second is what I would like to have as output.

Code:
0 BEGIN PGM 1 MM
1 BLK FRM  0.1 X+2,5 Y+32,5 Z+16 2
2 BLK FRM  0.2 X+60 2.5 Y+35 32.5 Z+14
3 60,35,16,2.5,32.5,14
4 L Z+0 R0 FMAX M91
5 TOOL CALL 1 Z S1100  DR+0 DL+0
6 L Z+5 R F9999
7 L X+55 Y-31,5 R F9999
8 L Z+3 R F9999
9 L Z+0 R F300 M03
10 L X+30,5 R F400
11 L X+24,5 R
12 L X+16,5 R
13 L X+0 R
14 L Z+5 R F9999
15 M05
16 END PGM 1 MM

Code:
0 BEGIN PGM 1 MM
1 BLK FRM  0.1 X-2,5 Y-32,5 Z-14
2 BLK FRM  0.2 X57.5 Y2.5  Z+2
3 60,35,16,2.5,32.5,14
4 L Z+0 R0 FMAX M91
5 TOOL CALL 1 Z S1100  DR+0 DL+0
6 L Z+5 R F9999
7 L X+55 Y-31,5 R F9999
8 L Z+3 R F9999
9 L Z+0 R F300 M03
10 L X+30,5 R F400
11 L X+24,5 R
12 L X+16,5 R
13 L X+0 R
14 L Z+5 R F9999
15 M05
16 END PGM 1 MM
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.137 seconds with 18 queries.

Copyright © 2008 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap