CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 20, 2017, 11:27:11 am


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: First attempt to do 4 axis toolpaths from a 3D model  (Read 3123 times)
Dragonfly
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1691



View Profile
« Reply #15 on: March 20, 2017, 22:19:29 pm »

Hey, I understood that Smiley  And noted Polish books on the photo too
Logged

Before asking a question do some effort and walk through all menus and options in CamBam.  Maybe the answer is there. Please.
papslab
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: March 21, 2017, 09:06:15 am »

That is amazing! What was the source of the 3d model?

Hello.
The model is from grabcad or similar page. I don't remember.


* head1.stl (3775.57 KB - downloaded 38 times.)
Logged
papslab
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: March 21, 2017, 09:21:34 am »

Hello

Nice job !

So the unwrap/wrap works in real ? and not only in my mind  Cheesy .. (not yet tested on the machine)

did you notice distortions compared to the original model ?

++
David



It works great.
A number of rotational step was 360. Unwrap model was 28MB. There were no visible distorsions.
I used 4mm tapered ball nose end mill. It's a little to large diameter.

Pawel
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4686



View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: March 21, 2017, 10:01:25 am »

Hello

Ok, nice, so I'll continue to work on this plugin (currently, doing the surfaces without to have to run other plugins)

++
David
Logged
Bubba
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2225



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: March 21, 2017, 11:25:01 am »

Well done, Pawel.

Fly, czytasz po polsku?  Cheesy
Logged
Dragonfly
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1691



View Profile
« Reply #20 on: March 21, 2017, 15:09:12 pm »

With some effort and guessing.
Anyway these are Slavonic words, although far from the way we write and pronounce them in Bulgarian Smiley
Logged

Before asking a question do some effort and walk through all menus and options in CamBam.  Maybe the answer is there. Please.
Bubba
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2225



View Profile
« Reply #21 on: March 21, 2017, 16:39:01 pm »

Anyway these are Slavonic words, although far from the way we write and pronounce them in Bulgarian
***************
Yep. Cheesy
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4686



View Profile WWW
« Reply #22 on: March 30, 2017, 21:13:26 pm »

Hello

A new version of the script ; now it creates the 3D surface itself.

a plugin version will follow soon

++
David

* rotate3D_10.zip (2.91 KB - downloaded 62 times.)
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3139



View Profile
« Reply #23 on: March 30, 2017, 22:11:39 pm »

Good effort  Grin it's amazing what can be put in a script.
Logged
papslab
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: April 02, 2017, 10:36:30 am »

Hello

A new version of the script ; now it creates the 3D surface itself.

a plugin version will follow soon

++
David



Works ok


* snail.jpg (182.58 KB, 1363x722 - viewed 90 times.)

* Zdjęcie-0011.jpg (96.65 KB, 512x384 - viewed 80 times.)

* Zdjęcie-0012.jpg (122.2 KB, 512x384 - viewed 92 times.)
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4686



View Profile WWW
« Reply #25 on: April 02, 2017, 16:32:48 pm »

Hello

I stay surprised that it works  Grin ...

I see that your unrolled model is close to 250k triangles ! .. I assume it takes hours to calculate the unroll ?

Last night I do some job on the UI for the plugin (only the design, currently, code remain to add)

Thanks for the tests  Wink

++
David


* Sans titre-1.png (24.57 KB, 567x595 - viewed 91 times.)
« Last Edit: April 02, 2017, 16:36:25 pm by dh42 » Logged
karst.drenth
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: April 02, 2017, 17:50:16 pm »

looks cool  Cool  Cool
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4686



View Profile WWW
« Reply #27 on: April 02, 2017, 23:40:14 pm »

I wonder why it works bad on the same model in inches .. (the venus, resized to inches)

It's like too small triangles (absolute values) are not detected.

++
David
Logged
quoy25
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 38


carpe diem


View Profile WWW
« Reply #28 on: April 18, 2017, 19:04:16 pm »

Very Nice and impressive tool !
i've started learning CATIA machining  to be able to use my 4 th axis for complex 3D milling , but i think here is the answer for my needs .
is it possible to use rought + finishing operations with this unwrap/wrap option ?
what i mean is unwrap a "cylindric" shape, make some rought and finishing operation ( wave rought + horizontal finishing for exemple) and then wrap the GCODE with CAMBAM WRAPPER ?
does someone test rought operations ?
thanks in advance
quoy
« Last Edit: April 18, 2017, 19:08:31 pm by quoy25 » Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4686



View Profile WWW
« Reply #29 on: April 18, 2017, 19:23:07 pm »

Hello

Quote
is it possible to use rought + finishing operations with this unwrap/wrap option ?

Yes, in fact it's exactly the same than using a 3D machining operation, except that you wrap the resulting GCode, so you can define rough and finish the same, and use as many 3d mop you want. (and also boundaries as for any 3D job)

++
David
« Last Edit: April 18, 2017, 19:28:05 pm by dh42 » Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.146 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2008 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap