CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 16, 2018, 19:22:14 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9]
  Print  
Author Topic: CamBam plus V1.0 (Linux development release)  (Read 22015 times)
newlinuxuser
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71


View Profile
« Reply #120 on: July 05, 2018, 00:29:27 am »

Hello Andy, here the output.

It put it in a file because exceed the 2000 caracters, but seems to be the 5.14. Is it too new?
Today I removed everithing about mono and reinstalled mono complete from the beta, not the stable.
But the problem is still the same, nothing is changed from old mono coming with the distribution.

Cambam is installed in my home folder, in the subdirectory Cambam1.0,  the mono-system is in the .config folder also this in my home folder.
Seem to be a permission problem, but so far I cannot find the problem... I tried also to give 777 permission to the drawing folder, without success. Then restored the permission as usual.

Thank you very much Andy,

Andrea










* mono_version.txt (30.37 KB - downloaded 4 times.)
« Last Edit: July 05, 2018, 00:38:57 am by newlinuxuser » Logged
django013
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #121 on: July 05, 2018, 06:05:14 am »

Hm, I use debian stable, which has mono version 4.6.2 ...
I installed the CamBam alpha into /opt as owner root
and installed CamBam system folder into ~/.config as my user ...
To start CamBam, I use a little helper script like this
Code:
#!/bin/bash
cd /opt/CamBam1.0
./cambam.sh
At start, the application ask me, whether to start in root-mode, which I negate.
Rest works fine so far.

I tried to make file license.rtf user writable, but that does not prevent question about root mode.

Well, I did only a quick test: loading stl-file, create contour lines from 3D-surface, create a pocket, generate toolpath and write gcode. GCode-generation runs into line-limit, so anything seems to work.
... and to me, it looks pretty good - and yes, it seems to run faster Smiley

cheers Reinhard
Logged
10bulls
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2084


Coding Jedi


View Profile WWW
« Reply #122 on: July 05, 2018, 07:27:04 am »

Hello Andy, here the output.

It put it in a file because exceed the 2000 caracters, but seems to be the 5.14. Is it too new?
That all looks good... I am testing 5.12 which works OK but I will try 5.14 as well.
I am also testing Linux Mint 18.2 (which is Ubuntu 16.04 based), so I will also set up an Ubuntu system
to try and repeat the problem.  It could be window manager related.

It sounds like a problem whenever the file open dialog is trying to open.
Does File - Save also cause the problem?

Many Linux problems seem to relate to monos Windows.Forms implementation.
I am starting to phase out the reliance on that, so working on a replacement File dialog may be a good next step.
I think the mono one looks ugly anyway  Smiley.
Logged
10bulls
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2084


Coding Jedi


View Profile WWW
« Reply #123 on: July 05, 2018, 08:54:10 am »

...At start, the application ask me, whether to start in root-mode, which I negate.
Rest works fine so far.

I tried to make file license.rtf user writable, but that does not prevent question about root mode.
I think this is the new permission check kicking in; this was added as you need write permission to the program folder when entering the license code.
It should not prompt to run as admin if a license file is detected.
Or if you want to just keep running in evaluation mode, you can set the system configuration 'Show License Form' setting to false.

Quote
Well, I did only a quick test: loading stl-file, create contour lines from 3D-surface, create a pocket, generate toolpath and write gcode. GCode-generation runs into line-limit, so anything seems to work.
... and to me, it looks pretty good - and yes, it seems to run faster Smiley

That sounds good, thank you for the feedback everyone!
Logged
newlinuxuser
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71


View Profile
« Reply #124 on: July 05, 2018, 14:12:58 pm »

Hello Andy, no problem to saving files.
Seem to be related only to the form for opening the file, opening either from the drop menu of recent files or opening from the file manager works good.
The icon or the item open in the menu the most of time stall cambam with "thinking" until stopped from terminal.

Starting Cambam with sudo works.

Thanks you,

Andrea
Logged
10bulls
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2084


Coding Jedi


View Profile WWW
« Reply #125 on: July 05, 2018, 14:32:02 pm »

Hello Andy, no problem to saving files.
Seem to be related only to the form for opening the file, opening either from the drop menu of recent files or opening from the file manager works good.
Hmm... interesting...  Huh

Does the File Open dialog come up at all ?
...or does it hang when you select a file and select 'Open' ?

If the dialog does not show at all, can you please try...
File - New From Template
or
Script - Open

Thanks for your help in trying to track this down.
Logged
newlinuxuser
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71


View Profile
« Reply #126 on: July 05, 2018, 15:02:39 pm »

It hangs when I select a file, and select Open.
The dialog shows correctly, I can move between directories, select a file without problems until I click on "Open".
Logged
10bulls
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2084


Coding Jedi


View Profile WWW
« Reply #127 on: July 05, 2018, 16:59:22 pm »

Andrea,
Can you please open a terminal window, change to the CamBam program window and run the following...
Code:
mono --trace=T:CamBam.UI.CamBamUI CamBam.exe > ~/trace.txt

This should start CamBam.  Then try your File-Open again.
If this hangs, kill mono as you have been doing.
There should now be a file ~/trace.txt
Can you please mail this file to support @ CamBamCNC.com and I will see if this offers any clues.

Thank you again for your help!
Logged
10bulls
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2084


Coding Jedi


View Profile WWW
« Reply #128 on: July 10, 2018, 23:40:25 pm »

Bob, I moved the STEP file stuff into a new thread here...

http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=7481.0
Logged
django013
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #129 on: July 11, 2018, 13:12:06 pm »

Hm, my answer was not related to step files, but related to reported hangup.
So I copy it back:

I never used File Open. Just drag and drop from a file manager. Works fine Smiley
Quote
It hangs when I select a file, and select Open.
I tried that, and to me it looks like a cosmetic bug. The software does not hang, only the mouse cursor stays at the busy symbol - and only until the mouse is moved.
After any mouse move, mouse cursor changes to correct symbol and cambam works as expected.

At least on my linux box.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.3 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap