CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 16, 2019, 13:44:13 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 13
  Print  
Author Topic: CamBam plus V1.0 (Linux development release)  (Read 53372 times)
10bulls
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2097


Coding Jedi


View Profile WWW
« on: January 05, 2017, 21:58:00 pm »

The new V1 alpha is now available for Linux...

http://www.cambam.info/ref/ref.linux#devt

Just to repeat the Windows announcement...

Warning! This release is still in the early stages of public testing. 
All gcode output should be treated with caution! 
We do not recommend using this version for production work until it has undergone more testing and reached 'release candidate' stage.


The new version should follow the same installation instruction as 0.9.8.

Like the new Windows CamBam V1.0, the binaries and system folders will install into new directions, so it should be OK to run 0.9.8 and V1.0 on the same system.

I am interested to hear if the new triangulation library is behaving under Linux (and Windows)...
This can be tested by opening the 'klannimate.cb' sample.  If you can see the 'Mr Crabby' robot, then so far so good.
If errors are reported then there may be missing or incompatible dependencies and I will have to try harder!   Smiley

The new Windows script editor is currently not available under Mono, so there is just a boring old monchrome jobby until I can port that over or come up with an alternative.  Both Windows and Mono versions will be getting some improvements to the script editing in coming releases.

I have not been able to test this release using OpenGL yet as I need to rebuild some test systems for that, so I also interested in hearing any feedback regarding that.

Once again, thank you all for your patience and support while waiting for the new CamBam development releases.

I hope you all have a great new year and happy machining!

Regards

Andy Payne (10bulls)
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3950



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2017, 22:01:31 pm »

I've just installed Linux Mint on a spare laptop tonight and hope to try this out tomorrow.
I'll be interested to see how plugins work  Grin, or don't  Huh, with Linux
Logged

Made in England
10bulls
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2097


Coding Jedi


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2017, 22:18:00 pm »

I've just installed Linux Mint on a spare laptop tonight and hope to try this out tomorrow.
I'll be interested to see how plugins work  Grin, or don't  Huh, with Linux
I suspect that many plugins will need a recompile...even if they appear to work OK.

If Windows 10 keeps going the way it is and as Microsoft and hardware manufactures continue to drop support for older OSes, I think many more of us will be digging out the old computers for a Linux transfusion too!  Smiley
Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7886



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2017, 22:21:24 pm »

I don't know.  We use both here.  But Win10 seems to be a fairly friendly OS.

But I sure DON'T know what the programming challenges with it might be.  I was truly 'once' a programmer, but now only a user.

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5476



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2017, 22:22:17 pm »

Hello Andy

Thanks for this release.

Is there a chance that it become compatible with plugin written in VB ? (not working on Linux if the plugin use windows forms)

++
David
Logged
10bulls
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2097


Coding Jedi


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2017, 23:13:59 pm »

I don't know.  We use both here.  But Win10 seems to be a fairly friendly OS.
Frustrating thing is, win10 has the potential to be a fine OS, but it appears determined to become more a platform for an appstore and user information gatherer.  Lack of control over updates and ability to turn off ever changing and unwanted 'features' just make it feel more like it is 'their' OS they are letting me use, rather than something I control. Even CALC.EXE has spammed me!!! Angry
I dunno... maybe I'm just turning into a grumpy old git. Smiley

Is there a chance that it become compatible with plugin written in VB ? (not working on Linux if the plugin use windows forms)
Hi David,

Being CLR, I would have thought window forms were OK, even if written in VB.  Unless there is a missing dependency somewhere?  I can look at the DLL dependencies if it helps?
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5476



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2017, 23:36:36 pm »

I'll try to install 1.0 on linux (not comfortable with linux  Embarrassed ) and do a test with my nummove plugin.

On the picture It's the error I get if I try to use the nummove plugin on 0.9.8 version (ubuntu 14.04),, CB terminate and I get this message in the console.

only plugins that do not use form at all seems to works on linux, even if it is a form that is defined inCB dll's like the requesters for scaling.

I do not know if it is me that must "import" something in the plugin code so it works on Linux ...

++
David


* VBplugin_errorlinux.png (94.59 KB, 834x335 - viewed 297 times.)
Logged
10bulls
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2097


Coding Jedi


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2017, 00:08:46 am »

Unfortunately the visual basic compiler adds a reference to the Microsoft.VisualBasic assembly.

You can try installing the visual basic package...

Code:
sudo apt-get install libmono-microsoft-visualbasic10.0-cil

I am away from my desk now so can't test this.  If the package is not found, you may need to update the repository path.

Alternatively, and again I have not tried this, here is some information about changing a visual basic project to compile without adding the Microsoft.VisualBasic assembly.  However, it may require some code changes to avoid VB specific code.

https://www.ghielectronics.com/community/codeshare/entry/1039

I hope this helps.
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5476



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2017, 00:12:52 am »

Ok thanks Andy, I'll try ... for now I try to install the V1.0 on Linux ... and it's not won!  Embarrassed

good night
++
David
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5476



View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2017, 01:39:01 am »

Fine !

with the install of the libmono-microsoft-visualbasic10.0 and some change in my code the nummove plugin is working on linux (at least for me !)  Grin ...

But currently I can't get the 1.0 working on Linux ... but .. another job for another day ... it's bed time now !!

++
David
Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7886



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2017, 01:43:18 am »

Hooray, David!  You ARE a "champion for the cause" (in many ways).

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5476



View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: January 06, 2017, 01:47:37 am »

LOL .. now I must check again my other plugins on linux and do the changes in the code ...(small changes)

++
David
Logged
10bulls
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2097


Coding Jedi


View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: January 06, 2017, 10:07:43 am »

But currently I can't get the 1.0 working on Linux ... but .. another job for another day ... it's bed time now !!

Sorry, I am having problems with new distributions too.  Embarrassed
I am working on a fix now.
Logged
10bulls
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2097


Coding Jedi


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: January 06, 2017, 10:47:41 am »

I have just uploaded a new 'alpha11b' binary download on the Linux page.

http://www.cambam.info/ref/ref.linux#devt

Hopefully this should fix the problems when running on newer distributions.

I've tested Linux Mint 18.1 and so far is looking good.
Logged
blueorangelive
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: January 06, 2017, 11:31:19 am »

Hello
I use so far CamBam0.9.8P-mono-beta2-64bit under Linux Fedora25 and am satisfied. Everything for me is great.
 
Now I wanted to test the new allfa11 64bit for Linux, but at the start are all sorts of errors.

Look in my text file.

Thank you for your good work and Best wishes,  J├╝rgen from Germany


* CamBamError.txt (5.04 KB - downloaded 140 times.)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 13
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.172 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap