CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
February 25, 2020, 08:35:09 am


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: STOP writing plugins!!!  (Read 11736 times)
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8140



View Profile
« on: November 27, 2016, 03:17:46 am »

I now think I know why Andy hasn't yet released the newest beta. 

You guys keep writing IMPORTANT plugins, and I think Andy is trying to add those functions to CB in a rational way.

If you just STOP, he won't have anything more to add, and we'll see the new code sooner!

PLEASE STOP BEING USEFUL, and just go back to being 'users' for a while!

 Grin

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4144



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2016, 09:03:44 am »

Noooooooo !

Andy will have to stop trying to add them, there's nothing wrong with leaving them as plugins.  Grin

Having said that, I'm getting grief from the missus again  to, "GET OFF YOUR ARSE AND DO SOMETHING USEFUL !" Sad
« Last Edit: November 27, 2016, 09:16:53 am by EddyCurrent » Logged

Made in England
grzgrz
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 43


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2016, 09:11:48 am »

I think that the coders among us write their plugins to speed up the CamBam's development process. I wonder who's going to add a 4th axis feature first...  Wink

Grzegorz
Logged
Garyhlucas
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1336


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2016, 18:28:02 pm »

I can't help but think it might even go faster if there was a mechanism to reward peoples efforts. Writing code may be fun, but some of us use programs like CamBam to make a buck.  Years ago I paid a young guy to write me a Rhino plugin and it was worth a lot to me. We use a program called AllOrders to manage Work Orders, Sales Orders, Purchase Orders, Bills of materials etc. We paid a guy $500 for a custom Excel Macro used to import BOMs from SolidWorks into AllOrders. We paid the AllOrders vendor $1000 for a program to print Sub-Asssembly bin labels. This has made us hugely efficient, at way less cost than one of the big programs. CamBam works the same way for us.

I get that this is Andy's product and forum, maybe a yearly user fee for professional users could work. Everyone else does that. For us it is thousands of dollars a year.

Just thinking out loud here.
Logged

Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5761



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2016, 21:07:57 pm »

Hello,

Quote
I wonder who's going to add a 4th axis feature first...

Andy I think ; there is at least a way to to the same as Wrapper in the alpha version.

Quote
You guys keep writing IMPORTANT plugins

Impossible is an addiction  Grin Grin

++
David
Logged
grzgrz
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 43


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2016, 08:42:26 am »

Hi there,

@David
What I had in mind was an automated rotary machining solution that wouldn't involve wrapping. Also, I know it's already possible to hand-code CamBam for indexed rotary milling, but it's a little tedious.

@Gary
I've heard of the so-called bounties for completing coding tasks. However, I do hope CB won't become cloud-based software, or something you have to buy once and then pay its annual 'maintenance' fees or it stops working.

Grzegorz
Logged
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3859


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2016, 17:06:20 pm »


I've heard of the so-called bounties for completing coding tasks. However, I do hope CB won't become cloud-based software, or something you have to buy once and then pay its annual 'maintenance' fees or it stops working.


I agree.  I don't mind paying for an upgrade that adds real functionality (I have four versions of ViaCad), but renting software galls like stainless on stainless.  I also think bug fixes should be free.  Not only available incorporated in the next paid upgrade.  

Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
annuello
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 45


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2016, 20:08:37 pm »

Also thinking out loud...

As a hobby machinist who may one day want to have the hobby pay for itself the "one off purchase price" with free upgrades approach is very attractive, and was a large consideration in my original purchase.  Cash flow (and available time) is low and finds subscription-based software a daunting commitment.

Rewarding plugin developers could be complex, considering the amount of idea/code sharing that occurs between developers.  Potentially an intellectual property web of mess.  I see the enthusiastic plugin development and sharing as a "value add" to the base product.  I hope that the extensibility of plugins brings more customers to Andy.  As it currently stands, the plugins bring extra value to us all.

In another hobby of mine I pay $5 per year for a forum subscription to a user group.  This modest "cup of coffee" price gives extra access to subscriber-only content.  It is up to the forum individual as to whether they want to upload contributions to the public or subscriber-only area, and there are a few restrictions on non-subscribers, like monthly download limits.  The community still remains friendly to non-subscribers and helps each other out regardless of subscription status.  If "the answer" is in the subscription-only section a gentle nudge is offered to the non-subscriber.  A modest fee of this amount is achievable for most small time hobby folk.  And it's a subscription to the forum, not the product - lack of ongoing subscription does not jeapodise their main investment.  Given the continual proliferation of CamBamplugins, there would be value in having such access year-in year-out.

Annuello.
Logged
Bubba
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2806



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2016, 20:38:00 pm »

Noooooooo !

Andy will have to stop trying to add them, there's nothing wrong with leaving them as plugins.  Grin
********************************
I for one, use CB as hobby user exclusively, never make a dime with it because I don't want to. Yes, I make ton of  different things for my entertainment and as gifts to my fiends and family. I have offers to make things for sale but refused, I retired for a reason, don't need nor want commitments.. Personally, I don't have a problem with commercial version (plugins and scripts incorporated) and/or hobby version with plugins and scripts as they are right now.. Wink So because the commercial version takes longer Andy should release the hobby version now.. Grin Grin Grin
Logged

My 2¢
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4144



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2016, 21:17:39 pm »

A subscription system would totally ruin it for me, and just because other vendors use that idea, it doesn't make it right.
I'm not into 'the cloud', streaming of music etc. I like to buy something and own it, then keep using it until it's either knackered or I choose to replace it.

Here's an example, I use a DAW (digital audio workstation) called Reaper, you buy it and it's extremely cheap compared to other similar products but is very powerful too, a bit like CamBam. Updates are free until a major update occurs where the version number changes from say, 3 to 4 then you get an upgrade discount if a previous owner or a full purchase price if not.

But if you don't want to upgrade, it keeps on working without any restrictions other than there will be no further updates for that version.

I vote to leave the CamBam model just as it is  Cheesy
« Last Edit: November 28, 2016, 21:58:20 pm by EddyCurrent » Logged

Made in England
onekk
Wookie
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 498


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2016, 07:06:13 am »

The most important add-on to CamBam, IMHO.

- a "stable" and WELL documented API
- some feature in the CAD section "like dashed and dotted lines" to improve the design phase.
- 3D CAM improvements (the core of CamBam is the CAM part)
- a mechanism like "autocad" console to input some operations by hand, when drawing "precisely" the mouse is not enough, if i wanto to do a 4,124x4,125 cm  square (sorry I'm Italian so , is the decimal point) is most easy to "write" "Rec 0,100 4,125,4,125" than create a dummy rectangle and then adjust the properties as needed.

Regards

Logged

Carlo D. (onekk)

eShapeoko #343 750x1000 mm + GRBL + bCNC + CamBam
Bubba
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2806



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2016, 12:08:55 pm »

I vote to leave the CamBam model just as it is  Cheesy
*********************************
+1 !  Wink
Logged

My 2¢
kvom
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1546


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 29, 2016, 12:49:06 pm »

I have not found any part I've wanted to make on my mill that I can't do with CB as-is.  I do 99% of my CAD outside either with Draftsight or Solidworks.  For me bug fixes are more important that new features, and the plugin building community seems to be coming up with good stuff. 

That said, the lathe functionality would probably be my preference for major improvement, even though I already bought another CAM product for that. 

Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5761



View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: November 29, 2016, 16:48:13 pm »

Hello,

Quote
- a mechanism like "autocad" console to input some operations by hand, when drawing "precisely" the mouse is not enough, if i wanto to do a 4,124x4,125 cm  square (sorry I'm Italian so , is the decimal point) is most easy to "write" "Rec 0,100 4,125,4,125" than create a dummy rectangle and then adjust the properties as needed.

http://www.atelier-des-fougeres.fr/Cambam/Aide/Plugins/Numeric%20Polyline.html

++
David
Logged
onekk
Wookie
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 498


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: November 29, 2016, 17:20:34 pm »

Hello,

Quote
- a mechanism like "autocad" console to input some operations by hand, when drawing "precisely" the mouse is not enough, if i wanto to do a 4,124x4,125 cm  square (sorry I'm Italian so , is the decimal point) is most easy to "write" "Rec 0,100 4,125,4,125" than create a dummy rectangle and then adjust the properties as needed.

http://www.atelier-des-fougeres.fr/Cambam/Aide/Plugins/Numeric%20Polyline.html

++
David


David, I know of the existence of this plugin, but my thinking is to have a similar approach built in CamBam. (and Working with Linux)

The stable and well documented API is for having the possibility to write the plugins in a more stable manner, there is some features in the interface, youo can ave Arc2F in a polyline, but apparently you can't create them (or at least i caouldn't find a manner to to so).

very soon I will "publish" my new version of the BoxAuto Plugin (totally driven by angles) and you will appreciate some curved feature of some sides (the reduced).

My intention is to draw exagonal and octagonal, or even more poligonal shapes and all the logic has to be driven by starting point, length and angle (plus some embedded logic to create the tenons), all has to be driven by the angle of the reference line (in a square is simple, but in a hexagon is a little different), some functions in Cambam maybe could do the math, but I have opted to use the logic outside usign only Point2F (Or Point3F), Line2F and Polyline.Add() line or point  hopiing to avoid future API change.


 
Logged

Carlo D. (onekk)

eShapeoko #343 750x1000 mm + GRBL + bCNC + CamBam
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.194 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap