CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 26, 2017, 06:33:14 am


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 11
  Print  
Author Topic: Trochoidal Pocket & Profile MOPs plugin (HSM)  (Read 13281 times)
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4628



View Profile WWW
« Reply #15 on: November 23, 2016, 23:52:16 pm »

Hello jk

I'm working on translation for your plugin and I fall on a little problem because some texts are already used in regular Cambam MOP.

'Step Over' is used for the header of the section (1) and translated as "contrôle des déplacements latéraux" in French.

'StepOver', without space, is used for the step over value property (2) and in French the 2 texts are different ("recouvrement" for this one), but as you can see on the picture, both are the same because in the plugin the 'Step Over' text is used in place of 'StepOver'. Can you change that ?

note also that 'Stepover' with no space and a 'o' instead 'O' is used by another plugin.  Shocked

I really not understand what is the "Segmented slice derating" and what it do exactly...  Huh

Nice job  Wink

++
David


* Sans titre-1.jpg (61.17 KB, 459x295 - viewed 85 times.)

* Sans titre-2.jpg (123.85 KB, 723x538 - viewed 76 times.)
Logged
jk
Storm Trooper
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 199


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: November 24, 2016, 06:21:53 am »

newlinuxuser,

Did the v1.1 worked ? Never used CB on linux. I have virtual machine with ubuntu, maybe I could install CB there and check if nothing helps.

dh42,

Thank you for the translation efforts, didn't think about translation yet, a lot of text resources aren't wrapped in Translate.

Not sure if 'Segmented slice derating' setting will survive the next versions :-) Its effect is visible on incomplete (segmented) slices, there the path make a round and meet already milled area. Since it's already milled,
center part of slice is cutting air, and may be removed. Actual stepover is becoming less. This setting allows
to choose stepover for such slices. 0 means 'use actual stepover', 1 means 'use original stepover', other values
are in between. Maybe a picture will explain it better.





* ssd.png (84.08 KB, 1200x589 - viewed 97 times.)
Logged
newlinuxuser
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 62


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: November 24, 2016, 09:36:19 am »

Yes, the v1.1 works perfectly in linux.
Logged
jk
Storm Trooper
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 199


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: November 24, 2016, 21:32:14 pm »

Updated first post with v1.3

* new tool engagement estimator, true angle of engagement is analyzed
effect is most pronounced on a narrow passages, slices are compressing - see picture

* change of the way feedrates are passed to the CB g-code generator
* fix for compatibility with older version of CB libraries (used in Linux version)
* setting for the feedrate of opening spiral
* mop-specific feedrates are now default to 0 (means 'use cut feedrate') to be consistent with other feedrates in  CB
* fixes



* trochopock_tea.png (23 KB, 1063x483 - viewed 85 times.)
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3066



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: November 24, 2016, 21:53:16 pm »

Just tried it here; http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=6229.msg49451#msg49451

looks great !
Logged
newlinuxuser
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 62


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: November 24, 2016, 22:07:54 pm »

Just tried on linux, errors fixed, works well!

Thank you.
Logged
Garyhlucas
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 987


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: November 24, 2016, 22:20:23 pm »

I don't do much pocketing but this is really exciting to see!
Logged

Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4628



View Profile WWW
« Reply #22 on: November 24, 2016, 22:39:42 pm »

Hello,

Quote
Thank you for the translation efforts, didn't think about translation yet, a lot of text resources aren't wrapped in Translate.

All texts in the treeview (properties and help texts) and menu are translatable, the only one that is missing is the bubble for the toolbar icon, I think it's not necessary to translate all log texts that are written in the log window ; that increase dramatically the translation file.

thanks for changing the text for the Step Over, now it use the standard translation for this property.

++
David

EDIT: it seems that the leadin spiral is reverted compared to the rest of the flat spiral.

also, the spiral is both in horizontal and Z direction ; on other mop, the spiral is only in Z.

another nice addition would be the management of the '0' value for the spiral angle for the spiral leadin. On other MOP, if 0 is used the MOP calculate automatically an angle to obtain one full spire for the given depth increment.

« Last Edit: November 25, 2016, 00:00:10 am by dh42 » Logged
jk
Storm Trooper
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 199


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: November 25, 2016, 00:22:51 am »

Thanks )

Didn't expected CamBam is running just great on linux. A little slow on painting, but it's a likely a virtual machine issue.

Popup text on toolbar icon won't be translated, it's a used to regulate conflict with Custom CAM Toolbar plugin )

Leadin spiral reversal is by design. If flat spiral is expanding CW, outer walls are milled and mill direction is conventional (spindle is CW). Leadin spiral is collapsing CCW, inner walls are milled and mill direction is conventional too (first loop is a full slotting of course).

Spiral angle = 0 gives the right result, full length of source polyline is used to reach the given depth.
But in this case source polyline = flat spiral, so spiral is fully unwinded :-)
Internally I call native CB lead-in generator on a flat spiral, he does some inner magic and returns Z-spiral.

---
Just thought it may be unclear:

Flat spiral is not a lead-in, it's a part of pocketing toolpath (spiral + slices)
Z-spiral or tangent lead-ins are lead-ins (sic) may be used or not. They are generated based on a pocketing toolpath. I apply them to the spiral part of toolpath only, otherwise they make a mess.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2016, 00:32:52 am by jk » Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4628



View Profile WWW
« Reply #24 on: November 25, 2016, 00:29:04 am »

just find a pb case

rectangle is not totally filled
++
David

* trochopock_rectbug.cb (3.38 KB - downloaded 35 times.)
Logged
jk
Storm Trooper
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 199


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: November 25, 2016, 00:37:57 am »

dh42,

relax min stepover a little. 0.88 instead of default 0.9 fixes the problem
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4628



View Profile WWW
« Reply #26 on: November 25, 2016, 01:20:34 am »

Just to say, It works also on the V1.0 alpha (development version) and the new MOP is totally recognized  Cheesy

++
David
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4628



View Profile WWW
« Reply #27 on: November 25, 2016, 21:52:16 pm »

Hello,

Quote
Internally I call native CB lead-in generator on a flat spiral, he does some inner magic and returns Z-spiral.

Ah ok, I thought you need to create it yourself. (I never explore MOP creation)

In this case I understand why this result ; the leadin is applied to the first toolpath of a pocket, but in this case, the first toolpath is the whole flat spiral.

Maybe, the way to obtain a "only Z" spiral for the leadin is to apply it to a circle centered on the flat spiral, so you get the same as a spiral drill for the leadin instead of an horizontal + vertical helix.

I assume that the circle must have a diameter a little smaller than the cutter diameter, and of course that it must not be "attached" to the flat spiral so only the circle is done with a leadin. Also, in this case the spiral must not start at the center but at the circle diameter.

(at 1:30)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cs2A1jaaxRQ

another HSM pocketing
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZDYvLiN8FnI

I think metal workers will like this plugin !

++
David
Logged
chadrat6458
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: November 27, 2016, 01:46:49 am »

Can I get a version of this already compiled? Thanks.
Logged
Bubba
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2203



View Profile
« Reply #29 on: November 27, 2016, 02:05:40 am »

Can I get a version of this already compiled? Thanks.


http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=4886.135
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 11
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.127 seconds with 18 queries.

Copyright © 2008 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap