CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 19, 2017, 21:20:38 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9]
  Print  
Author Topic: 'Simulate with CAMotics' plugin  (Read 12213 times)
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3217



View Profile
« Reply #120 on: November 14, 2017, 17:17:50 pm »

Too hard this time. Huh

if cb2cm.config has, <regen_gfile_before_post>false</regen_gfile_before_post>
do this exactly,

1. start cambam, open camotics test.cb
2. Machining->Produce gcode (i.e. for ALL the file)
3. select and right click the part, dip wax mold reworked
4. select, produce gcode, from the context menu
5. with the part still selected choose, Tools->simulate with camotics (part)

if cb2cm.config has, <regen_gfile_before_post>true</regen_gfile_before_post>
do this,
1. start cambam,  open camotics test.cb
2. select and right click the part, dip wax mold reworked
3. select, produce gcode, from the context menu
4. with the part still selected choose, Tools->simulate with camotics (part)

« Last Edit: November 14, 2017, 17:21:43 pm by EddyCurrent » Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7153



View Profile
« Reply #121 on: November 14, 2017, 18:55:41 pm »

Bingo!  Thanks!

Now, the other part about the V-cutter not showing its cuts is probably a CAMotics issue, and I'll fiddle around a bit to see what it takes to correct it.

LLoyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3217



View Profile
« Reply #122 on: November 14, 2017, 19:09:14 pm »

Marvelous !

So what were you doing different before ?
Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7153



View Profile
« Reply #123 on: November 14, 2017, 20:28:15 pm »

Not generating the g-code for the part just before simulating.  It WAS generated from a previous run, so I don't know exactly why it wouldn't work without generating it immediately before invoking CAMotics for part... <shrug>

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4745



View Profile WWW
« Reply #124 on: November 14, 2017, 20:32:03 pm »

Hello

Quote
One other thing... I have an engraving tool working to put nomenclature on the mold, and it never shows any contact having occurred between that tool and the lowered work surface (but it works in 'real life' on my mill).

Maybe a tool definition problem ?

On the Tag field in the engrave mop, is see 82 V cutter, but in camotics, it's a 0.11 tools with = 0.02 (pic1)

If, in the CB tool library I set the following values for the tool #5

Diameter = 0.125"
Vee Angle = 82
Length = 0.2"

I get the right 82 tool in camotics and the simulation works. (better if you choose "Very Hight" for resolution) pic2

If you have a look on camotic resolution, you can see that for your part, with medium setting, the resolution is set to 0.98", and for Very Hight, it is set to 0.289", so in this case camotics can't simulate a tool of 0.02" as you set in the engrave mop.

I tried with 0.02 for resolution ... and after some minutes, camotics use the whole RAM (16GB) !!! .. and show a calculation time = 8h00 ... LOL

++
David


* pic1.png (36.18 KB, 992x565 - viewed 9 times.)

* pic2.png (97.59 KB, 980x890 - viewed 13 times.)
« Last Edit: November 14, 2017, 20:34:56 pm by dh42 » Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3217



View Profile
« Reply #125 on: November 14, 2017, 21:41:57 pm »

Not generating the g-code for the part just before simulating.  It WAS generated from a previous run, so I don't know exactly why it wouldn't work without generating it immediately before invoking CAMotics for part... <shrug>

Lloyd

The plugin uses the generated .nc filename as the one to use for generating the .xml file and then passes that to CAMotics.
I tried to disturb JK's code as little as possible


« Last Edit: November 14, 2017, 21:46:40 pm by EddyCurrent » Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3217



View Profile
« Reply #126 on: November 15, 2017, 13:27:35 pm »

What's wrong with just disabling all the Parts other than the one to simulate ?
To disable a Part, just select it in tree view then press the Space Bar.
Then just produce gcode as normal, is there something I've missed ? is that too laborious ?
Logged
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Online Online

Posts: 2989


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #127 on: November 15, 2017, 14:50:22 pm »

What's wrong with just disabling all the Parts other than the one to simulate ?
To disable a Part, just select it in tree view then press the Space Bar.
Then just produce gcode as normal, is there something I've missed ? is that too laborious ?

That was kind of my point before.  I was missing why ...   I simulate part of jobs all the time in order to isolate problems. 
Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7153



View Profile
« Reply #128 on: November 15, 2017, 17:33:04 pm »

I probably wasn't clear on my last post.

I had created a .nc file for the particular part in an earlier run, so my puzzlement was why CAMotics wouldn't have used that .nc file.  The name was the same each time.  It was ONLY for the one part.

Is there some residue in memory at the time of creation of the .nc file that CAMotics relies upon?

It IS 'no more trouble' to run the creation immediately before running CAMotics.  I sometimes do it JUST to make sure I haven't created any errors which only show up during its creation.  I'm just curious about why the older .nc file wouldn't have served the purpose.

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.125 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2008 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap