CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 12, 2019, 19:32:59 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is CAMBAM development over?  (Read 3914 times)
HREFAB
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63


View Profile
« on: August 03, 2016, 22:43:42 pm »

I am a long time CAMBAM user and for what it does, it can't be beat. However, I notice that there has been no further development of the product since about 2011. Does this indicate that CAMBAM is no longer being developed?

I think it would be a shame if CAMBAM fell by the wayside due to lack of improvement. I know it is never going to compete with the high end packages and that is not what it's designed to do, but some development on perhaps a 4th axis would go a long way to extend the lifespan of this great product.
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5676



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2016, 23:13:57 pm »

Hello,

Cambam is still developed, a new version is in progress at this time  Wink

++
David
Logged
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3816


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2016, 19:31:16 pm »

I would like to personally see more efficient HSM toolpath generation replace hard stepover tool paths. 

I received a message from Andy a few months ago.  The next release will be the official 1.0 (nolonger beta) release. 

P.S.  Where do you get 2011?  Last official stable release was 2015. 

"Released 22 Sep 2015 build 0.9.5729.19316 Rev P"

I am a long time CAMBAM user and for what it does, it can't be beat. However, I notice that there has been no further development of the product since about 2011. Does this indicate that CAMBAM is no longer being developed?

I think it would be a shame if CAMBAM fell by the wayside due to lack of improvement. I know it is never going to compete with the high end packages and that is not what it's designed to do, but some development on perhaps a 4th axis would go a long way to extend the lifespan of this great product.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2016, 19:35:17 pm by Bob La Londe » Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
Garyhlucas
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1313


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2016, 19:03:12 pm »

When you see all the scripts and plug-ins done by users here you'd have to conclude that development has been almost continuous!  I would expect that those scripts and plug-ins are guiding Andy on where he ought to put his efforts. If a script or plug-in doesn't get a big response here then there may be few people that would benefit from further development efforts. As a user it can be frustrating that you want to do something that no one else does. If you really need some feature because your business depends on you can get it simply by dropping $2k to $15k on a "professional" program. It will be interesting to see what Andy has done.
Logged

Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3816


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2016, 20:12:42 pm »

When you see all the scripts and plug-ins done by users here you'd have to conclude that development has been almost continuous!  I would expect that those scripts and plug-ins are guiding Andy on where he ought to put his efforts. If a script or plug-in doesn't get a big response here then there may be few people that would benefit from further development efforts. As a user it can be frustrating that you want to do something that no one else does. If you really need some feature because your business depends on you can get it simply by dropping $2k to $15k on a "professional" program. It will be interesting to see what Andy has done.

Actually I've also been playing with Fusion360 that does almost everything I want for free (well, until I start making money with it), but its a heck of a lot harder to learn how to use.  I have yet to cut a part with it. 
Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
kvom
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1541


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2016, 12:07:14 pm »

Same here.  I can use HSMXpress for free but CB is just easier and faster for the type of parts I make.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.111 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap