CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 09, 2018, 19:56:41 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Webcam + Mach3 for setting zero  (Read 11401 times)
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3692



View Profile
« on: February 26, 2016, 20:38:02 pm »

Cutting wood, as I do, means finding the edges is not as easy as with metal.
I saw the idea of using the guts from a webcam combined with a video window plugin for Mach3

Ths first thing you notice is, it's quite bulky, that doesn't matter but the main reason for that is I used acrylic and did not want thin weak walls, especially where the centralising grub screws were.
Looking at the pictures of the video window, I rotated the camera 90 degrees to show that everything is adjusted to the centre of the router spindle. The lense can be focused over quite a wide range.

The camera was focused on a mm steel rule so each division there is 1mm. Adjustement is quite easy to 0.01mm accuracy and that's fine for wood.

I should have tapped the bottom ring to eliminate the nuts  Roll Eyes


* cam1.jpg (45.99 KB, 800x624 - viewed 483 times.)

* cam2.jpg (44.32 KB, 800x616 - viewed 356 times.)

* cam3.jpg (39.75 KB, 800x660 - viewed 398 times.)

* cam4.JPG (36.89 KB, 800x600 - viewed 419 times.)
« Last Edit: February 26, 2016, 20:46:46 pm by EddyCurrent » Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3692



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2016, 20:40:02 pm »

more pics.


* cam5.jpg (37.44 KB, 800x832 - viewed 355 times.)

* cam6.jpg (47.86 KB, 800x828 - viewed 430 times.)
Logged
lloydsp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7663



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2016, 21:08:29 pm »

Neat idea!  That might be useful for metal, also!

Lloyd
Logged

"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"
Garyhlucas
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1175


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2016, 21:45:13 pm »

A guy on the Mach3 forum is selling a very nice one already done.
Logged

Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3413


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2016, 21:46:18 pm »

It's nice for picking up a detail.  If you can't get it tramed so it is the same from one time to the next just rotate the camera.  If the cross hairs circle your detail point uniformly you are as centered as you are going to get.  
Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
Dragonfly
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2044



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2016, 22:18:06 pm »

It is a thing I've been planning to implement for a long time. Now I got some inspiration Smiley
Logged

Before asking a question do some effort and walk through all menus and options in CamBam.  Maybe the answer is there. Please.
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3692



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2016, 22:41:11 pm »

A guy on the Mach3 forum is selling a very nice one already done.

This one cost me nothing. It would look good in an aluminium case but I don't like cutting that material.
Logged
Bob La Londe
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3413


^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2016, 02:01:32 am »

A guy on the Mach3 forum is selling a very nice one already done.

This one cost me nothing. It would look good in an aluminium case but I don't like cutting that material.

I think the acrylic looks cool. 
Logged

Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5234



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2016, 16:36:58 pm »

Hello Eddy

Do you use the built-in camera plugin ?

Have a look here, there is a more advanced plugins from the guy that created MachScreen.
(it allow the manage an offset between the cam and the spindle axis)

http://www.kd-dietz.com/klausphp/pages/eng/plugins/webcamv3/description/wcam_descriptionv3.html

here it's the V2 (never tried the V3)
http://www.metabricoleur.com/t7110p75-une-cnc-de-plus-la-6040-de-strib#145537

++
David
Logged
awemawson
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2016, 20:03:14 pm »

Tony Jeffree developed that for the PC absolutely years ago !

http://www.jeffree.co.uk/modelengineering.html

Towards the bottom of the page

Logged

Andrew Mawson
East Sussex
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3692



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2016, 20:21:28 pm »

Thanks for the links, I've been on all of those websites, some software worked some did not, I might write my own plugin.
Logged
airnocker
Wookie
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 395


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: June 15, 2016, 20:45:03 pm »

I like this a lot!  Don't know how I missed seeing this back in February.  Nice job EddyCurrent.
Logged

airnocker

Everything depends on everything else
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3692



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: June 15, 2016, 22:22:13 pm »

Thanks airnocker.

I'm going to make a new one when time permits.
Though it works well, it's just a bit bulky, but mainly I wanted to correct some errors in my design, especially with the four adjusting screws for camera alignment.  The grub screws should be at exactly North, South, East, West of the camera image but mine were at 45 degrees off those. The reason was that I put the screws holding the assembly together at N,S,E,W only realising my error once it was switched on and working.

Also I want to fit a limit switch to protect the camera lens if Z goes down too far.

The idea is a good one though and I did use the Mach3 built in video window.
Logged
airnocker
Wookie
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 395


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: June 16, 2016, 15:07:01 pm »

What was your alignment procedure for the webcam.  I'm guessing you anchored the ruler first, then with a small v-cutter bit position the router and bit over the ruler line intersection, mounted the webcam and adjusted your grub screws until its view was centered on the same ruler line intersection.  Close?

I'd like to hear/see more details on how your interfacing the webcam housing to the router spindle.



Logged

airnocker

Everything depends on everything else
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3692



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: June 16, 2016, 20:41:12 pm »

Alignment procedure:

1. Attach camera to router spindle, 1/2" brass shaft on camera into an ER25 collet on spindle.
2. Anchor steel rule to machine table with double sided sticky tape
3. Lower Z until camera is focused on steel rule
4. Jog machine until the cross hairs align with an intersection of two lines on steel rule.
5. rotate the spindle by hand  Wink 180 degrees and adjust approriate grub screws to centre X axis
6. Repeat steps 4 to 5 until the cross hairs remain on the intersection in both rotated positions
7. Now do the same for the Y axis.
8. Save this as a Fixture zero setting in Mach3

The brass shaft for mounting the camera was an interference fit in the polycarbonate hole that was cut on the machine. The next version will have something better now I've proved the camera concept is a good one. It works great for setting the zero corner of a piece of wood.


* camera.jpg (168.53 KB, 1200x1254 - viewed 347 times.)
« Last Edit: June 16, 2016, 21:12:07 pm by EddyCurrent » Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.166 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2018 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap