CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 21, 2017, 07:32:08 am


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Texture Builder Plugin  (Read 1958 times)
GeoffreyGRoy
Storm Trooper
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 120


View Profile
« on: November 21, 2015, 09:29:28 am »

I am releasing the first version of my new plugin for CamBam Texture Builder.  Creating textured surfaces on your CNC machine can offer the potential for interesting effects. 
While some of the capabilities of this new plugin already exist in CamBam (by importing and manipulating 3-D surface models) the plugin offers some additional capabilities to develop regions of texture from basic elements (we can call these tiles) by placing them parametrically over a surface using a range of basic operators (translate, scale, copy, rotate as well as repeating in linear and polar patterns). These processes are defined in a script that can be saved, edited and reused as required.
The plugin accepts tile definitions in the form of STL, RAW, XYZ files, and various image formats (interpreted as height maps), and can produce models in XYZ, RAW or STL model formats (the latter two can then be imported into CamBam).
I am also attaching a short document showing some examples, including how the basic tiles might be prepared using third party tools.
I would appreciate any feedback, comments or indications of bugs that you may find.  The multilingual support has only been partially implemented at this stage.  If there is sufficient interest I can try to set up the scripting language to be translatable.

Geoff Smiley

* TextureBuilder-v1.0.1.zip (567.25 KB - downloaded 116 times.)
* TextureBuildingExamples.pdf (1415.65 KB - downloaded 200 times.)
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3037



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2015, 09:51:03 am »

It would be ideal if you could attach some sample files.
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3037



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2015, 11:56:08 am »

Okay I've got some test files made myself. you need to set CamBam for mm I think

1. unzip the attached to find;

test3.txt
test3.png

2. open CamBam then Plugins->Texture Builder

3. on the plugin form, click "Load" and navigate to the test3.txt file, select->open

4. on the plugin form, click the "Run" button,
This is what I got in the text box

Reading from IMAGE file: F:\\test3.png
Adding tiles...[12]
Total number of facets: 60000

5. "Close" the plugin

6. in CamBam open the created file test3.stl

My result was the attached picture.
and from CutViewer Mill (3mm ballnose)

* test3.zip (8.09 KB - downloaded 60 times.)

* weave.jpg (80.63 KB, 800x442 - viewed 96 times.)

* simulation.jpg (90.41 KB, 800x498 - viewed 102 times.)
« Last Edit: November 21, 2015, 12:32:26 pm by EddyCurrent » Logged
dave benson
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 768


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2015, 12:57:24 pm »

That worked for me too. I've had a quick look at the manual and it looks interesting.
Dave
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4565



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2015, 16:39:52 pm »

Hello Geoff

That sound like a nice plugin ... but what is GeoGen ? .... I search on Google but I fall on a black page that say:

GEOGEN 4.0

name> @init
error: hardware accelerated graphics not supported
name>

++
David
Logged
GeoffreyGRoy
Storm Trooper
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 120


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2015, 23:03:24 pm »

Dear David

GeoGen is available at http://geogen.cz/.

Geoff
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4565



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2015, 23:06:47 pm »

Thanks, I'll try it Wink

++
David
Logged
BR52
Wookie
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 302



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2015, 01:51:13 am »

hello children

The most comprehensive, GeoGen studio it's here.
https://code.google.com/p/geogen

The source code here:
https://github.com/Baenlin/geogen

   Armando
Logged
GeoffreyGRoy
Storm Trooper
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 120


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2015, 08:45:01 am »

Dear Armando

While GeoGen Studio is a "complete" package with a nice UI, its programming capabilities are limited (dodgy!).  I would suggest you use the more recent GeoGen (GGS a9) as referred to above.  It is possible to use the Studio version to view results.

regards

Geoff
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.125 seconds with 18 queries.

Copyright © 2008 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap