CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 18, 2017, 10:05:59 am


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]
  Print  
Author Topic: Dotted Lines reborn as "Dashed Lines"  (Read 13708 times)
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3215



View Profile
« Reply #75 on: March 30, 2017, 21:09:12 pm »

Thanks Karst, that did the trick, the TypeName field is now hidden.

It's fair to say I would never have worked that xml stuff out myself.  Huh

Version 7.1 attached to first post in this thread
Logged
karst.drenth
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58


View Profile
« Reply #76 on: March 30, 2017, 22:39:43 pm »

You're welcome !  Grin

...I am currenty rounding up the code for the solids, so there is more interesting code to come...

Here: http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=6482.msg51798#msg51798 you'll find the latest sources I was referring to.


Oh... btw you might want to put an [Category("Dottet Line")] attribute to your new properties, to let them show up nicely in the PopertyEditor Smiley

Grtzz,

Karst
« Last Edit: March 30, 2017, 22:47:46 pm by karst.drenth » Logged
sibianul
Storm Trooper
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 247


View Profile
« Reply #77 on: August 09, 2017, 09:18:37 am »

Hello guys,

awesome plugin !

I used it now on a new project I want to start, to keep my kids busy Smiley

is there a way to convert the dashed line to points ? I want to drill each dot in the dashed line, is there a way to do it ?



* dashed lines.jpg (51.79 KB, 961x826 - viewed 36 times.)
« Last Edit: August 09, 2017, 09:36:27 am by sibianul » Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3215



View Profile
« Reply #78 on: August 09, 2017, 10:10:45 am »

is there a way to convert the dashed line to points ? I want to drill each dot in the dashed line, is there a way to do it ?

As the saying goes, "Where there's a will there's a way"  Cheesy
I'll have a look. It will be easier to use normal polylines and convert those to points, so new plugin I think.


I saw someone making lampshades with a drilled pattern like that.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2017, 10:13:20 am by EddyCurrent » Logged
sibianul
Storm Trooper
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 247


View Profile
« Reply #79 on: August 09, 2017, 10:13:36 am »

Thanks Eddy, I have tried to explode thinking it will work, but it's still a normal line after explode. I have also tried with Corel Draw, to convert the lines to dots, but I didn't had any luck there either, on the dxf export I got normal lines in cambam
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3215



View Profile
« Reply #80 on: August 09, 2017, 10:15:55 am »

You could draw a polyline then use, Draw->Pointlist->Step Around Geometry
then delete the original polyline.

So no new plugin required

Just tried that method and it should work good for you.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2017, 10:18:28 am by EddyCurrent » Logged
sibianul
Storm Trooper
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 247


View Profile
« Reply #81 on: August 09, 2017, 10:27:53 am »

Just amazing how powerful this software is Cheesy

Thank you very much!!!
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3215



View Profile
« Reply #82 on: August 09, 2017, 10:33:40 am »

Example  Cheesy



* london.jpg (111.81 KB, 1000x576 - viewed 37 times.)
Logged
sibianul
Storm Trooper
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 247


View Profile
« Reply #83 on: August 09, 2017, 11:33:36 am »

Second step (drilling) done Smiley Now to find some small nails, than the kids will get some colorful strings from their grandpa, and start the hard work Smiley

This method DRAW - POINTLIST - STEP AROUND GEOMETRY solved my issue in seconds, very very easy.. I think I lost more time in Corel trying to export the dotted line than it took to actually drill the holes on the CNC Smiley



* IMG_0152.JPG (1107.8 KB, 3264x2448 - viewed 34 times.)
Logged
Garyhlucas
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1016


View Profile
« Reply #84 on: August 09, 2017, 23:00:04 pm »

Nice project for the kids. My grandson bought a piece like that. I never thought to bang one out on the cnc!
My little homebuilt is pretty quick. I'd bet on about 100 holes per minute in wood.
Logged

Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3215



View Profile
« Reply #85 on: August 10, 2017, 08:33:52 am »

We used to make these years ago, great little books with many patterns in them.


* pin.jpg (53.61 KB, 500x500 - viewed 30 times.)
« Last Edit: August 10, 2017, 08:37:12 am by EddyCurrent » Logged
Garyhlucas
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1016


View Profile
« Reply #86 on: August 10, 2017, 19:09:43 pm »

Back when my grandson was five I decided to make him a set of wooden blocks from 3/4" x 1-1/2" poplar in lengths of 1-1/2", 3", 4-1/2", 6", and 12" with the 3" being the largest quantity. My reasoning was that basic blocks encourage creativity but the biggest problem is that you never have enough to build that house or castle or race track. So this set in a fitted wood box is over 800 pieces!

So we built towers all the way to the ceiling and knocked them down with the RC cars. He uses them like dominoes running all around the house and then lets them fall in a cascade. He builds ramps for his model cars. At 14 he still pulls them out and plays with them.

Cutting them up took a couple hrs. I could not find a fast way to round the corners. I wound up doing 20 at a sitting with fine sandpaper for MONTHS until they were all done!
Logged

Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.129 seconds with 18 queries.

Copyright © 2008 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap