CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
January 21, 2017, 08:26:14 am


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]
  Print  
Author Topic: Inlay using V-Engrave  (Read 17877 times)
chadrat6458
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


View Profile
« Reply #60 on: July 28, 2016, 16:04:24 pm »

I don't see offset polyline (W) in your file.. What was the offset value you were using?

I was using the default value from the plugin. I might not have saved it.
Logged
chadrat6458
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


View Profile
« Reply #61 on: July 28, 2016, 23:46:05 pm »

I switched from inches to mm so I could use the calculator values. Cam Bam did not convert my drawing to mm. Started over using mm and things look a lot better.
Logged
Bubba
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2011



View Profile
« Reply #62 on: July 29, 2016, 00:09:50 am »

I switched from inches to mm so I could use the calculator values
*************
This statement is telling me that you have lots of reading in front of you.. Are you familiar with those documents?
http://www.cambam.info/doc/

Now, to explain this.. CamBam use  unit count, being an inch or metric it does not matter as long as is used as configured in the option menu. Because my program default measurement setting is Inch all plugins, scripts operate as such. In my case, in the inlay calculator all of the values entered were in inch and it works , no problem..   
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2642



View Profile
« Reply #63 on: July 29, 2016, 08:10:06 am »

As Bubba said, if you use inches then just enter a value such as 0.125 and if using mm enter 3.2.
In other words you have to use values appropriate to your chosen measurement system.

Also make sure you use the new v1.5 because it will remember your values.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2016, 08:13:46 am by EddyCurrent » Logged
chadrat6458
CNC Ewok
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


View Profile
« Reply #64 on: July 29, 2016, 16:24:59 pm »

I had the drawing units set to inches. I ran the inlay plugin. The substrate offset value was something like -0.638 I don't remember exactly and my laptop is at home. The number was too big. Instead of converting all the numbers from mm to inches. I selected mm in the drawing units drop down. This converted my 4 inch letter to 4 mm. Again the default -0.639 offset was too big. Figured out how big 4 inches is in mm. Started with a new file with mm set for drawing units. Put in the right numbers and it worked.

Still playing around with it. Is the inlay v-engrave go inside the region?
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2642



View Profile
« Reply #65 on: January 09, 2017, 20:29:13 pm »

Update attached, version 2

Has been compiled with .NET version 4 assemblies and references to CamBam v1.0 dlls

Has been modified and tested to work on;

    Windows
    Linux

Works with CamBam version 1 ONLY

* Inlay_Calculator_v2.zip (503.17 KB - downloaded 21 times.)
Logged
michel
Storm Trooper
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 178



View Profile WWW
« Reply #66 on: Yesterday at 08:50:04 »

hi ,

I installed the plugin but is there some explanation on how to use it ? I have a work to to. I am making an oak table and on the table top in need to engrave a text " SUDAH MAKAN ".

My first idea was a v-engrave but as it has to stand out it is maybe better to do it with a inlay . Text needs to be 5 cm height and 15 cm long.

If someone could push me in the right direction i would appreciate ;-)


michel
Logged
EddyCurrent
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2642



View Profile
« Reply #67 on: Yesterday at 10:09:36 »

The instructions are to read this thread   Wink
Logged
macbob
Storm Trooper
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 171



View Profile WWW
« Reply #68 on: Yesterday at 15:47:42 »

Have you not already eaten?

 Smiley
Logged
dh42
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4022



View Profile WWW
« Reply #69 on: Yesterday at 22:16:35 »

Hello,

Michel, I think you understand French ?

if that can help
http://www.metabricoleur.com/t11847-utilisation-v-engrave-et-inlay-calculator#231625

++
David
Logged
michel
Storm Trooper
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 178



View Profile WWW
« Reply #70 on: Today at 03:55:44 »

Hi David

yes but this is very complicated. You almost need have a programmer background to find out how to do it. Is there any possibility to create a video showing every step to take to get the  inlay done on a tekst ? This will be much easier to understand then trying to unravel this technical text ;-)


michel
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.124 seconds with 19 queries.

Copyright © 2008 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap