CamBam
News:
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. September 23, 2014, 20:54:42 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: CamBam Lathe - Short Tuto  (Read 4585 times)
dh42
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1673



View Profile WWW
« on: December 27, 2010, 23:03:32 pm »

Hello,

A reminder to use lathe function.

The Lathe axis on CamBam standard view (XY plane)



And a short video attached to remember the important parameters  Wink

++
David



* Lathe_CB_EN.rar (2241.24 KB - downloaded 647 times.)
« Last Edit: December 28, 2010, 21:44:04 pm by dh42 » Logged
10bulls
Administrator
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1966


Coding Jedi


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2010, 00:42:28 am »

Excellent! Thank you so much for putting that together.  It is much easier to take things in when they are presented as a video.  Smiley

The only thing I would add, is that you should also make sure ToolProfile is set to Lathe.
This is needed so the post processor can offset the toolpath by the tool radius.

Merci beaucoup David!  Grin
Logged
dh42
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1673



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2010, 15:17:50 pm »

Hello Andy

Ok, I'll edit the video to add the setting "toolprofil"

The video is a good thing, but it makes very large files that I do not know where to host! (if I use YouTube, it's a disaster, it re-compress the video and modify the size too and result is unreadable for screenshots)

++
David
Logged
blowlamp
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1133


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2010, 15:22:16 pm »

David.
I find Jing (free) to be OK for the few videos I make. Just 'shoot' and let it upload to their website.

Martin.
Logged
dh42
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1673



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2010, 15:59:11 pm »

Hello Martin

I use a similar soft to do capture (CamStudio), then I edit the avi with Ulead VideoStudio ... the problem is the size of a long tuto with big screen (0.5 to 1 GB )

I'll try Jing to see .... the major problem with CamStudio is that I can't cut the parts of film that I don't want, it's the reason why I use a video editor too ...

++
David
Logged
dh42
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1673



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2010, 21:46:22 pm »

Video released  Wink

++
David
Logged
Totem
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 80


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2011, 20:21:26 pm »

Hello all,
salut David ;-),

I made an other video tutorial to use CamBam with a lathe, a  bit longer as david's.
Maybe you've already seen it on a french forum.
In it, I show how I drill with a lathe, and how to do face turning (not sure it is the good expression, what I mean is machining along the X axis).

You'll find the video here: http://www.screencast.com/t/jSFex9Hn9cha

The part you see in this video is this:



It's a 4mm collet (or clamp? not sure) for my router motor.

++ Lionel
Logged

I'm french, and I'm really sorry for all my English mistakes :S
kvom
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 942


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2011, 23:41:53 pm »

I played David's video and didn't get any sound.  Not sure if there is narration.   Huh

When I was learning CNC lathe in school we always chose Z0 at the right end of the piece with moves in -Z direction.  One reason is that we would usually take a facing cut manually with the jog pendant and then set Z0 at that tool position.

Questions:

1) Is it necessary to draw the profile in the -X half of the grid, or does it matter?
2) Is the tool diameter field used to enter the nose radius, and if so is it necessary to double the radius?
Logged
dh42
CNC Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1673



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2011, 17:41:44 pm »

Hello

No sound on my video ; I don't speak English .. only read/write.

I tried with the profil in +X ; that don't work, toolpaths are wrong in Mach ..

Yes you must enter 2 if you want a nose radius of 1 (don't forget to use ToolProfil = Lathe)

++
David
Logged
Totem
Droid
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 80


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: December 05, 2011, 17:49:10 pm »

Quote from: Kvom
1) Is it necessary to draw the profile in the -X half of the grid, or does it matter?

If you want use a tool for turning internal diameters (outil à aléser, don't know the english name  Embarrassed ), you can't draw at the upper part off the gird (also Y+ when milling), rotate your profile of 180° around the X axis (with the "transform" dial box of course ), then generate toolpaths, and apply the same transform to the toolpaths, it will be OK.

++ Lionel
Logged

I'm french, and I'm really sorry for all my English mistakes :S
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.198 seconds with 18 queries.

Copyright © 2008 HexRay Ltd. | Sitemap