CamBam

Resources => CamBam files (*.cb) => Topic started by: Starryvox on February 16, 2019, 18:41:44 pm



Title: Postprocessor for Edm wire cutting
Post by: Starryvox on February 16, 2019, 18:41:44 pm
Hello.
I was looking for a CAM to be used on my wire cutting Edm machine (Fanuc Robocut Alpha 1B)
I have tried the  trial version of camBam and it looks very promising to me, because I am already close to get the G-Code customised as I wanted to. I think I will buy the license if my open problem will be solved

So, could somebody help me about this pending issue on G-Code postprocessing?

1. Since it is a wire cutting CNC machine, I would like to exclude from the output nc file any Z-axis movements and any F (feedrate) S (speed) values?
Would it be possible to exclude them using some prostprocessor options?


Title: Re: Postprocessor for Edm wire cutting
Post by: lloydsp on February 16, 2019, 21:11:39 pm
My opinion is "yes".  I've written a number of post-processors and also 'post-build processors'.  It's amazing what you can do to the g-code with the combinations of the two.

We'd need much more information.  But the key issue (I think) is WHY are you requesting Z motion in the CB file, if no Z motion is desired?

Spindle speed is (of course) of no matter to EDM.  It can be easily eliminated.  Feedrate has to do both with Z movements and XY motion, so I'm not sure how an EDM machine could operate, unless it knew the rate-of-travel for a particular wire, particular material, and particular thickness of material.

Yours,
Lloyd


Title: Re: Postprocessor for Edm wire cutting
Post by: Starryvox on February 18, 2019, 09:10:20 am
Thank you Lloydsp

I think my original text was not so clear, sorry.

What I want is precisely to exclude Z blocks and movement, and F and S commands.
Here is the nc output I get from my postoprocessor:

.....
G00 Z3.0
X0.0
Z1.4
G01 F300.0 Z0.0
F800.0 X4.0
Y-2.8
X4.2 Y-3.0
X5.5
.........

here is what I want as an output:

G00 Z3.0
X0.0
Z1.4
G01 F300.0 Z0.0
F800.0
X4.0
Y-2.8
X4.2 Y-3.0
X5.5
.....

How can I modify parameters of my postprocessor in order to avoid any Z retracement up and down, and any F commands?


Title: Re: Postprocessor for Edm wire cutting
Post by: EddyCurrent on February 18, 2019, 09:59:44 am
I think Lloyd was right, see attached image.

I created a profile cut of the rectangle but set anything to do with a Z move to zero, I also set feed rates to zero.

It may of course still require some attention to the post processor.


Title: Re: Postprocessor for Edm wire cutting
Post by: lloydsp on February 18, 2019, 12:27:21 pm
Vox,
Unless I misunderstand your purpose here, it seems your 'desired output' shown above is also incorrect.

There is one XY movement to X=0 that you have eliminated.  It IS an "XY motion", and thus should be included.

I'm not sure I see a way with only the post-processor settings to get your desired output, but a post-build processor to edit the output could be a simple SED script in Linux, or a minor VB routine in Windows.

Also, is it true your machine uses NO "G" commands, and operates solely on XY positions? (I can see how it could, and only wish to clarify).

Lloyd


Title: Re: Postprocessor for Edm wire cutting
Post by: Starryvox on February 19, 2019, 07:10:42 am
thanks everybody for helping me.
I am very close to the desired output thanks to your hints.
Just two mre question, if anybody can help me:

1. I've realized that putting the fields "Cut feedrate" and "Plung feedrate" the commands F do not appear in the NC file. That's what I was looking for!
But do I have to change them to zero every time? I could not find a way to make it permanent.

2. I have a profile to machine, but the machining (NC file) is made in the wrong direction (let's say from bottom to top). How can I reverse its direction, from top to bottom?


Title: Re: Postprocessor for Edm wire cutting
Post by: Dragonfly on February 19, 2019, 09:18:58 am
Right click on the selected polyline and then use 'Polyline' -> 'reverse' from the drop down menu


Title: Re: Postprocessor for Edm wire cutting
Post by: EddyCurrent on February 19, 2019, 11:02:00 am

But do I have to change them to zero every time? I could not find a way to make it permanent.


Have a read in the manual about creating a "Template" or "Camstyle"

Nuovo da modello, Stili CAM

http://www.cambam.info/doc/


Title: Re: Postprocessor for Edm wire cutting
Post by: Starryvox on February 19, 2019, 11:32:05 am
Right click on the selected polyline and then use 'Polyline' -> 'reverse' from the drop down menu
Thank you. The italian translation is not correct ("indietro" instead of "invertire il verso"), and that's why I did not consider that command.


Title: Re: Postprocessor for Edm wire cutting
Post by: Starryvox on February 19, 2019, 11:35:34 am

But do I have to change them to zero every time? I could not find a way to make it permanent.


Have a read in the manual about creating a "Template" or "Camstyle"

Nuovo da modello, Stili CAM

http://www.cambam.info/doc/

Thank you so much! I will take some more time time to look deeper and create my own template.

Thanks to everybody for assisting me. It was an amazing help I got from the forum.