CamBam

FeedBack => Feature Requests => Topic started by: Bob La Londe on July 08, 2018, 15:04:46 pm



Title: STEP File resolution
Post by: Bob La Londe on July 08, 2018, 15:04:46 pm
Any progress on the import resolution for .stp files? 


Title: STEP File resolution
Post by: django013 on July 09, 2018, 04:55:44 am
I never used File Open. Just drag and drop from a file manager. Works fine :)

Quote
It hangs when I select a file, and select Open.
I tried that, and to me it looks like a cosmetic bug. The software does not hang, only the mouse cursor stays at the busy symbol - and only until the mouse is moved.
After any mouse move, mouse cursor changes to correct symbol and cambam works as expected.


Title: STEP File resolution
Post by: 10bulls on July 10, 2018, 16:11:26 pm
Any progress on the import resolution for .stp files? 
I have flagged this to add a configuration setting for the next release as a short term fix.

If you have example files for testing, that you are happy to email to support @ cambamcnc.com, where the resolution is particularly wrong that would be a big help.

Thanks Bob!


Title: STEP File resolution
Post by: Bob La Londe on July 10, 2018, 16:54:06 pm
Here is a screen shot showing VC vs CB import/open of the same .stp file.  I'll upload the CB file shortly.  I do not have compression software loaded on this PC. 


Title: STEP File resolution
Post by: Bob La Londe on July 10, 2018, 17:02:52 pm
… and the CB file.

If you zoom in you can see faceting on both sets of geometry, but the stl files has whatever standard deviation was set in the export.  stp file has visible faceting without zooming in.  Since VC imports the stp file and produces a nearly indistinguishable copy of the original its obviously a function of the settings that import the stp file into CB and converts it to lines, and meshes. 


P.S.  This is not my main design computer, and with its modest speed mere 2 core processor that CB file is sluggish.  Useable, but sluggish. 


Title: STEP File resolution
Post by: Bob La Londe on July 10, 2018, 17:11:16 pm
FYI: I think a manual setting that the user can choose (with last chosen as a default) is the way to go.  Not all imports/opens need to be the same resolution. 


And I'm sorry.  I realize this is not a Linux version specific issue, and as a Windows user I posted this in the wrong thread.  Its a general CB issue though I think, so it may affect both Linux and Window users. 


Title: STEP File resolution
Post by: Bob La Londe on July 10, 2018, 17:13:10 pm
P.S.  If anybody has a mini canon that shoots 1 inch balls you could use that file to make a cannon ball mold.  LOL. 


Title: STEP File resolution
Post by: dh42 on July 10, 2018, 17:47:55 pm
P.S.  If anybody has a mini canon that shoots 1 inch balls you could use that file to make a cannon ball mold.  LOL. 

A new method for fishing ?  ;D

++
David


Title: STEP File resolution
Post by: Bob La Londe on July 10, 2018, 17:54:03 pm
I sometimes make other things.  Hence why the name of the company is CNC Molds N Stuff


Title: STEP File resolution
Post by: 10bulls on July 10, 2018, 23:27:22 pm
… and the CB file.
Can you upload the STP file please Bob?

A resolution setting should be an easy short term fix.
A better long term solution will be to add support in the CamBam document for the internal STEP types.  Then we won't need to convert to triangle meshes until needed (if at all).  This will speed up the STEP loading as well as enable some other cool things.
V1.1 here we come!  8)


Title: STEP File resolution
Post by: Bob La Londe on July 10, 2018, 23:33:36 pm
I've got that on the house computer, but as soon as I take a break I'll upload it.  I'm in the shop right now.  

 
… and the CB file.
Can you upload the STP file please Bob?

A resolution setting should be an easy short term fix.
A better long term solution will be to add support in the CamBam document for the internal STEP types.  Then we won't need to convert to triangle meshes until needed (if at all).  This will speed up the STEP loading as well as enable some other cool things.
V1.1 here we come!  8)

Well, you know, better .stp implementation will also allow for the possibility of REST or REST LIKE machining as well.


Title: Re: STEP File resolution
Post by: Bob La Londe on July 11, 2018, 00:16:14 am
Here it is. 


Title: Re: STEP File resolution
Post by: 10bulls on July 11, 2018, 01:13:43 am
Here it is. 
Thank you very much Bob!  ...on the case!


Title: Re: STEP File resolution
Post by: lloydsp on July 11, 2018, 01:15:33 am
Andy,
I just want to say how wonderful it is to see you back here regularly!

Lloyd


Title: Re: STEP File resolution
Post by: Bob La Londe on July 11, 2018, 01:37:04 am
Yeah, What Lloyd said! 



Title: Re: STEP File resolution
Post by: Dragonfly on July 11, 2018, 08:36:20 am
I am following this thread with great interest.
Lately I've been getting customer files in .stp format which I have to adapt for 2.5D and sometimes for 3D work - generate drafts and export to .dxf or export to .stl. Would be nice if possible to work directly.
Ive tried removing all surface objects using David's plugin and then join manually the linear geometry but it is a slow and difficult task.
If I open a .stp file in FreeCAD it retains its edges as continuous closed curves while in CamBam everything becomes exploded to the simplest shape.

And I also enjoy Andy's presence here :)


Title: STEP file import
Post by: dwc on July 11, 2018, 10:10:21 am
I see that the new verson 1.0 is supposed to be able to import STEP files.
What are the limitations to this import?
I have files that import OK and files that cause CB to crash and I see no real differrence other than the file size.
A file of 225k imports OK, a file of 290k causes CB to crash.
Is it the file size that causes a problem or could it be something else?
Both files are created with Alibre 2018 in STEP 203 format.
Thanks in advance for your insights.
Don


Title: Re: STEP File resolution
Post by: Bob La Londe on July 11, 2018, 14:16:09 pm
I am following this thread with great interest.
Lately I've been getting customer files in .stp format which I have to adapt for 2.5D and sometimes for 3D work - generate drafts and export to .dxf or export to .stl. Would be nice if possible to work directly.
Ive tried removing all surface objects using David's plugin and then join manually the linear geometry but it is a slow and difficult task.
If I open a .stp file in FreeCAD it retains its edges as continuous closed curves while in CamBam everything becomes exploded to the simplest shape.

And I also enjoy Andy's presence here :)
I think the problem is that CamBam is really not importing the stp and working with it as an stp file, however it does appear to be working with all the source geometry.   Lines curves and surfaces.  It converts the surfaces to meshes.  I don't use FreeCAD much, but it may be automatically creating a solid.  I know ViaCAD gives you the option of creating a solid when you import an stp file.  I always do that, maybe if I do not select that option it would be more like CB except that I am sure it would show surfaces and not meshes.  

As a note of interest you can join meshes in CamBam.  I have not done much experimentation with that to know the limits.  




I see that the new verson 1.0 is supposed to be able to import STEP files.
What are the limitations to this import?
I have files that import OK and files that cause CB to crash and I see no real differrence other than the file size.
A file of 225k imports OK, a file of 290k causes CB to crash.
Is it the file size that causes a problem or could it be something else?
Both files are created with Alibre 2018 in STEP 203 format.
Thanks in advance for your insights.
Don
I had not run across Don's limitation before, but so far I have only done testing with simple objects.  If more complex shapes (larger) would cause crashes or load failures then it would make the feature of limited use.  Part of the appeal of using step files is the retention of all that other geometry, and the ability to open complete or near complete designs.


Title: Re: STEP File resolution
Post by: 10bulls on July 11, 2018, 14:58:36 pm
The problem is, currently there are no native CamBam drawing objects that correspond to all the various STEP types.

So with this initial STEP support, the surfaces are being converted to meshes when the file is loaded.
As well as causing performance and memory bottle necks, unfortunately this results in the mesh resolution needing to be 'baked in' when the file is loaded.

Once V1 is current, work on V1.1 will begin where we can start to address this.  The first step being to add new drawing types that mirror the step types.
This will result in the files being much faster to load, and converting to meshes can be deferred until the object needs to be displayed etc.  The mesh resolution will be configurable at any point.
Much of the groundwork to do this is in place but it will require 'breaking changes' to the CamBam file format, hence putting it off until the next big update.

But there will be improvements before then.  I have added a configurable resolution setting that will be in the next release, which should help with your dimpled ball problem Bob!
So if anyone has any STEP files they would like to share, here or emailing to support @ cambamcnc.com, that will be a big help!

Many thanks for your help everyone!


Title: Re: STEP File resolution
Post by: Bob La Londe on July 11, 2018, 17:27:10 pm
A new file format would not be a huge issue as long as there is an option to convert old file formats to the new format.  Maybe a utility plug-in to do it. 


Title: Re: STEP file import
Post by: dh42 on July 11, 2018, 20:43:37 pm
Quote
I have files that import OK and files that cause CB to crash and I see no real differrence other than the file size.
A file of 225k imports OK, a file of 290k causes CB to crash.
Is it the file size that causes a problem or could it be something else?

topic merged with dwc new subject

Hello

maybe it's not due to file size ; I loaded a 18MB step file without problem as you can see here
http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=6288.msg51529#msg51529

For me, I think that the files that crashed are those that contain "surfaces" ; Andy can explain more than me, but I think it's because the file contain Bspline surfaces or something like this.

Unfortunately, I've no file that cause crash on hand, but only files that give a bad geometry.

++
David

Edit: another discussion about 3D here
http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=6488.0